We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, ok hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metropole to your Saves list
Hotel Metropole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca Dom Pedro IV, 30 (Rossio), Lisbon 1100-200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Helsinki
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice location, ok hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in the middle of May 2011.
The hotel is in very good location and the bus from the airport comes almost to its door.

It is old hotel so needs updating but it is clean. A lot of noise during the night time. The beds are quite short and hard.

The receptionist was eager to sell the tourist bus card for 19 euros but we took the Carris daily ticket for less than 4 euros. The restaurant/cafe right next to the door is expensive and the quality of the food is disaster.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    86
    46
    17
    10
See reviews for
29
89
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Good news: The hotel is in a great location at Rossio Square which offers easy access to major sites, bus/tram/metro routes, and easy stroll to different neighborhoods (Chiado, Barrio Alto). The staff is friendly and helpful. The rates seem to be pretty good for the area. The breakfast buffet is a nice addition.

The So-So news: The main sitting/breakfast room and the guest room that we had could use a "freshen up." Furniture all seemed a bit worn. Then again, it would be fair to say "you get what you pay for" since the hotel does seem to give a decent value for its location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

The hotel is in a great location, central to the sights in the 3 older districts of Lisbon (Alfama, Baixa, Bairro Alto) with easy transportation connections.

The hotel, while a little faded, is very comfortable. We were in one of the smaller back rooms but it had plenty of storage and walk around space. Even though we were in the back of the hotel, there was some traffic noise....mainly early in the morning as businesses were getting their deliveries....but it didn't prevent us from getting a good night's sleep.

The elevator is up a flight of stairs so that may pose a problem for people with mobility issues.

The breakfast, included in the room price, was very good....scrambled eggs, fried bacon (more like ham than bacon), cheeses, lunchmeats, cereals, fruit, yogurt, breads and rolls.

The staff was attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

This is such a special hotel.

My husband and I spent four nights at the charming Hotel Metropole. We had originally booked a room with a balcony for only our first three nights, since for our last night we would be returning from a week in the Algarve and would be up early for our flight back to Canada. However, upon our return, management surprised us by upgrading our room, and we had another of the balcony rooms for our last night. I can only report, then, on the balcony rooms. In my opinion, they are superb and well worth the additional cost. Even now, I often think about the view of the square and S. Jorge castle on the nearby hill.

The Hotel Metropole is centrally located, on a lovely large square. There are many shops and restaurants on the square and in the surrounding neighbourhood. We had several “picnics” on our balcony with fried fish and pastries purchased from nearby stores. As well, we often lingered for hours over beer and pastries at the Swiss Restaurant on the square and would look for our balcony and toast our good fortune at picking such a central location.

Our room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was large, clean and stylish.

The breakfast at the Metropole is superb. Not only was the selection wonderful, but there were small touches that we have not found in other establishments – for example the fruit salad was made with fresh fruit.

We found the management to be exceptional – professional and courteous. We noticed that all the staff seemed to be very committed to their work and also that they seemed to honestly care about our well-being. For example, on the morning that we checked out, they made sure that breakfast was available for us despite the early hour.

We would love to return to beautiful Portugal, and we look forward to our next stay at the Metropole.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

This small hotel is great. It is centrally located , near to lots of sights, the bus station and a railway station. It could not be more conveniently placed. (And the Airport bus stops right outside the door!)
It is a three star hotel, so the rooms are perhaps a little small, but it is clean, comfortable and everything works. the staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfasts are excellent. We thought it was very good value for money and so, so convenient. What a find!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We had no problem with the outdated furniture. I though it was rather nice touch. Breakfast was good. The location is perfect. We stayed 4 nights and mostly very happy except the last night there.
There was a party behind the hotel and bunch of young people were completely drank and making noise all night. The music and singing was so bad that we could not sleep until 5 am. My husband talked to the manager on duty but he was completely helpless and rude. Just because he could not hear the noise from where he was, he didn't take any action. We had to call tourist police and finnaly police arrived around 5 am.
Since other staff were all helpful, we will not rate this hotel too bad, but that manager has to be replaced.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Gar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This place is a hellhole with the smell of raw sewage all over the hotel. the bathrooms are mouldy and dirty. The rooms facing the square are in no way sound proofed, leaving it difficult to get any sleep, when we were moved to a different room we were greeted with the sound of a drill from the construction works next door. The decor is dated and in need of updating, but that is the least of this hotel's worries. The raw sewage scent in many of the rooms and in the bathrooms cannot be healthy and does not result in a pleasant experience. The fact that the location is good cannot be denied but this does not compensate for the fact that this hotel is a dirty smelly hellhole.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: Praca Dom Pedro IV, 30 (Rossio), Lisbon 1100-200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel was opened in 1917 and its 36 rooms have air conditioning, minibar and balcony offering a unique and quiet. The customer can enjoy the stunning views of the São Jorge Castle, Alfama and Baixa Pombalina. Lisbon Metropole Hotel service • Satellite Television • Air-conditioned rooms • Room service • Laundry service • Safe • Organization of different activities • Minibar • Wake • Car Rental • Heating • Air conditioning • Bar • Concierge service • Baby sitter • Faxing • Smoking Rooms • Iron • Hairdryer • Alarm Clock • Auto Soundproofed Rooms • Telephone • Television • Direct Dial Telephone • Luggage • mirror How to reach Hotel Metropole in Lisbon Lisbon CITY CENTER Location: The hotel is in downtown Lisbon. Located 15 km from the beach and 1 km of the river Tagus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Lisbon
Hotel Metropole Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.