We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for all ages!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanario de Lisboa

Oceanario de Lisboa
Esplanada D. Carlos I - Doca dos Olivais, Lisbon 1990-005, Portugal
+351 218 917 000
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #5 of 229 Attractions in Lisbon
Type: Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Opened in 1998, the Oceanário was the centerpiece of the XXth Century's last World Fair, themed "The Oceans, a Heritage for the Future", and eternally binds Lisbon to the Oceans.MissionThe Oceanário’s mission is to promote knowledge of the oceans and bring up the public about the duty of protecting natural heritage, through changing their daily habits.While walking through impressive and unforgettable exhibits, visitors are encouraged to learn fascinating things about the oceans and, more importantly, how to make decisions in their daily lives that actively promote the conservation of nature.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Richmond, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Absolutely beautiful aquarium! Well laid out and informative - spent the entire afternoon there. Staff were great and even though it's a little pricey we found it well worth the visit. Will go back again just to see the gigantic tank in the centre!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,948
    2,060
    406
    59
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very interesting, worth to see. It has a huge area in a building with some place to walk nearby, don't miss if you go to Lisbon!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Biggest fish tank I've ever seen!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Well worth a visit. I'm no Aquarian geek but it was very interesting to see. Also if you get up here there are great views of the bridge and also a pleasant stroll along the river front.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
152 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
“superb experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

i had my tickets bought before arriving in lisbon because this was the one attraction i could not miss. there is not much to be said, all the reviews highlight how beautiful, interesting, educative this place is. for sure you should make time to visit it, i think 2 hours are enough to make the tour while taking photos and admiring the tanks.

it's easy to get here with the metro and only 10 min walk distance from the metro station. if you want to buy the tickets from the internet you will pay an extra 2E i think per ticket. when i went there ( around 20th of august) there was only a small crowd waiting to buy tickets.

also there was a temporary exhibition with sea turtles, very beautiful again.

near the oceanario you can also see the longest bridge in europe, vasco da game bridge, and you can make some shopping at casco da gama shopping center - right next to the metro station, so you can give this place of lisbon half a day of your trip

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oceanarium a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Superb and value for money. we spent a happy few hours amongst the varied exhibits. a superb facility, well done Lisbon

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceanario de Lisboa also viewed

 

Been to Oceanario de Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanario de Lisboa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.