We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanario de Lisboa

Oceanario de Lisboa
Esplanada D. Carlos I - Doca dos Olivais, Lisbon 1990-005, Portugal
+351 21 891 7000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Oceanario de Lisboa like an insider
Special Offer
$28*
and up
Lisbon Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: 48-hour Ticket
Ranked #1 of 423 things to do in Lisbon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Opened in 1998, the Oceanário was the centerpiece of the XXth Century's last World Fair, themed "The Oceans, a Heritage for the Future", and eternally binds Lisbon to the Oceans.MissionThe Oceanário’s mission is to promote knowledge of the oceans and bring up the public about the duty of protecting natural heritage, through changing their daily habits.While walking through impressive and unforgettable exhibits, visitors are encouraged to learn fascinating things about the oceans and, more importantly, how to make decisions in their daily lives that actively promote the conservation of nature.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I visited with my husband and two teenage boys. After a week in Porto (visiting many churches and castles) and a few days of Lisbon sightseeing, it was a nice change of pace. We all appreciated the aquarium. There was a special exhibit on turtles at the time of the visit. We found it a bit expensive but we did not have regrets.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,263
    2,567
    525
    79
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Far better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Ever since I was a kid I was obsessed with animals of almost every kind, I re-watched my Survival VHS-es who knows how many times and there's still a bit of that fascinated kid in me when it comes to nature. Anyway, this is exactly why I was so impressed with both the number of species present at the Oceanario and with the overall organization of the tour. To sum it all up - simply beautiful and hypnotizing.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
399 helpful votes 399 helpful votes
“Simply great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is the largest, and up to now by far the best aquarium I have ever visited, the main tank houses most probably everything bar whales, and the penguin section is amazing as well.

A must visit if you are in Lisbon.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great for kids and adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

An amazing experience, we also got to see a temporary turtle exhibition. The aquarium has two levels and while you get to see different environments, you revolve around this huge tank in which you can see sharks, stingrays and different species of fish. From there, you can go on a nice, but slightly long walk to the Vasco da Gama Tower and Bridge, along the Tagus/Tejo River. Then you can go inside the Vasco da Gama Shopping Centre, which is also really close to the train and metro station.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“An Oceanarium at a level of the best ones in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Near da Expo – Parque das Nações you can pick the underground and visit this well conceived and wonderful place – dedicated for all that like the sea and its species. A very big variety in a very big tank all in glass you can nearly touch the water and species like e.g. a shark.
After the visit you have restaurants and others attractions nearby

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceanario de Lisboa also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Oceanario de Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanario de Lisboa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.