We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well made (huge) aquarium” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanario de Lisboa

Oceanario de Lisboa
Esplanada D. Carlos I - Doca dos Olivais, Lisbon 1990-005, Portugal
+351 218 917 000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$21*
and up
Lisbon Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: 48-hour Ticket
Ranked #3 of 184 Attractions in Lisbon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Opened in 1998, the Oceanário was the centerpiece of the XXth Century's last World Fair, themed "The Oceans, a Heritage for the Future", and eternally binds Lisbon to the Oceans.MissionThe Oceanário’s mission is to promote knowledge of the oceans and bring up the public about the duty of protecting natural heritage, through changing their daily habits.While walking through impressive and unforgettable exhibits, visitors are encouraged to learn fascinating things about the oceans and, more importantly, how to make decisions in their daily lives that actively promote the conservation of nature.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well made (huge) aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I went alone to kill some time and didn't regret it. Even though I'm a scuba diver, this still is nice to see. Now I finally have seen those rays, great white sharks and mola mola which I have never seen on dives yet. Especially suitable for children and also educational.
The fish seem to act pretty natural (for as far as that's possible here) and it gives you a good idea about how life is down there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,065 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,347
    2,206
    433
    61
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Its not just fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I'm not surprised this is rated as the top attraction in Lisbon, its really great. It is about 20 minutes from central Lisbon on the metro near the Oriente station on the red line that goes to the airport. From the metro you need to go through the shopping centre to get to the river front and then turn right and walk about 10 minutes. The entry fee is Euro16, (kids e11) there is a small reduction for students if you ask for it. There is an audioguide available (e2.50) which was OK.
The cost includes the temporary exhibit, which is the sea turtles. I thought this was worth the extra few euro because you can actually sit below their tank or stand on top on a glass floor while they swim under your feet
The main exhibit is a massive central tank, with different zones at each corner of the building representing different areas of the world. These contain penguins and puffins and best of all, the sea otters, who were real entertainers.
The main tank can be viewed from 2 floors, we sat on the floor at the bottom, and watched for ages, it was kind of hypnotic and soporific. There are lots of small tanks and displays and an activity area. In one of these tanks there were sea dragons which I never knew existed, and were brilliant, so fragile! We also found Nemo, look carefully for him.
At the end was a video that was very good, showing how the aquarium is maintained and how each of the types of fish is fed its own individual diet. It is hard work maintaining something so big.
It is well worth going out of the way to see this. The area around is attractive and modern and there is a nice walk along the river front or a cable car. There are lots of fast food family eating places in the big shopping centre nearby and some good shopping too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Aquarium visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Sea otters very cute - well set out.
Very similar to other large aquariums around the world - the kids enjoyed the break from ruins culture and the sun!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Really the best Oceanarium I had ever visited!!! Don`t miss it! Absolutely different compared with “Sea life” chain. Photos of previous reviewers give an excellent presentation. It seems to be more popular in the morning (our friends saw a great line near the booking office in the morning, but we had visited Oceanarium after 15.00, and there wasn`t any line at all), so probably the good idea is to go there after midday.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great place to escape the Lisbon heat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was our second visit here and was just as enjoyable. Very big central tank with large number of fish and penguins, otters and frogs in natural enviroments. One of the best we have seen.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceanario de Lisboa also viewed

 

Been to Oceanario de Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanario de Lisboa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.