We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castelo de Sao Jorge

Castelo de Sao Jorge
Rua de Santa Cruz do Castelo, Lisbon 1100-129, Portugal (Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria)
+351 218 800 620
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$67*
and up
Small-Group Lisbon Sightseeing Tour by Segway...
Ranked #20 of 338 things to do in Lisbon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the historic Alfama district, this brooding Moorish castle dominates the city from its vantage point atop Lisbon's highest hill.
Sunnyvale
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Hands down, the view over Lisbon is amazing! The castle and the surroundings are beautiful and clean, yet I couldn't find information about any of the things I was looking at. There was a map at the castle entrance, but once you get inside there's nothing else. Maybe there are guided tours that help you understand a little bit better, but I went on my own. The ticket is expensive for what you get (7 euros if I'm not mistaken).
There are tons of stairs, and I didn't see access for disabled people or people with limited mobility. Stay away from this place if that is your case.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Titanetsissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

If you spend any time in Lisbon you should go to the castle if only for the panoramic views. Very steep roads. We were lucky enough to find a parking space not too far away but it's probably best to use public transport.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
1,750 reviews
1,471 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,177 helpful votes
“Very nice, yet dangerous after dark.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This reconstructed castle (from the late 1930's) is one of Lisbon's symbols.
You can see it from practically anywhere in the city.

Getting to the castle by foot is NOT recommended, as it's a very steep climb. Take a taxi instead.
The price is 7.50 Euros per adult (free with the LisboaCard).

The views from the castle are stunning, especially if you arrive near dusk or sunset. The entire city is colored with beautiful reds.

The castle itself is less impressive once you walk its battlements. Pay special attention to the steep stairs, as the place is VERY poorly lit and the fall from such a height can be fatal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A perfect setting to play knights and dragons ant to survey the citadel of Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We spent an idyllic afternoon up here enjoying the views and playing knights and dragons with our five year old. Everything about the Castillo feeds the imagination, from the castle turrets, the view, the cannon, the tunnels, the roman ruins........ the journey up and down on tram 28 was a perfect start and end to the castle adventure. The cafe is also good and reasonably priced. Our one regret was probably not hiring a tuk tuk which looked great fun and we didn't really see again in other areas.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“St George's Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Good views over Lisbon and well worth a visit. A pity that the tram driver did not announce the destination and we had to rely on a local passenger for the stop, nor was it clearly sign posted when we were off the tram.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MBKOKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castelo de Sao Jorge also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Castelo de Sao Jorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing