We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GO- JUDGE FOR YOURSELF” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gulbenkian Museum (Museu Calouste Gulbenkian)

Gulbenkian Museum (Museu Calouste Gulbenkian)
Avenida de Berna 45a, Lisbon 1067-001, Portugal
+ 351 21 782 3000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 216 attractions in Lisbon
Type: Art Museums, Ballets, Concerts, Symphonies
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Gulbenkian complex features a museum that houses a magnificent private collection of Persian art, Egyptian sculptures, and paintings by the Old Masters, as well as two concert halls for music and ballet performances.
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GO- JUDGE FOR YOURSELF”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a very nice museum with items displayed in a roomy manner. However to me it's just another museum . I guess I just don't appreciate history and art as much as I should. Go-give it a try and judge for yourself.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,171
    427
    81
    17
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Go to Lisbon just for the Gulbenkian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a treasure trove of art, artifacts and other collectibles from all over the world. Spend a day here, the gardens are also incredible.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good but Wasn't Wowed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Don't get me wrong—this is a very nice museum, and I very much enjoyed one of the temporary exhibits there. But I read so many reviews that said it was one of Europe's best museums, that I was a little disappointed. This is not on a par with Europe's best museums like the Prado or the D'Orsay or even the two small Picasso museums in Paris and Barcelona. I much more enjoyed Lisbon's smaller, more intimate Tile and Fado Museums. If I only had a few days in Lisbon, I would skip this. If you have five days or more, knock yourself out!

P.S. They have a pretty good cafe with a nice patio.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“superb collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

the best and only the best. amazing collection of art treasures of amazing quality spanning 4,500 years in time. the japanese inzo boxes alone are worth visit

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“2 hours well spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Smaller than I expected (it only took me 2 hours to go around and I am normally slower than most as I do take my time – if you tend to whizz around these sorts of places you might do it in an hour) but really good. Not the kind of stuff you’d expect one man to collect, more the stuff a national museum would. Loads of top artists are included such as Rembrandt, Rubens, Monet, Manet & Turner. The Lalique collection is small but beautiful. Very fine furniture and ancient artifacts from different regions.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulbenkian Museum (Museu Calouste Gulbenkian) also viewed

 

Been to Gulbenkian Museum (Museu Calouste Gulbenkian)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulbenkian Museum (Museu Calouste Gulbenkian), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gulbenkian Museum (Museu Calouste Gulbenkian) to your Saves list