We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GO- JUDGE FOR YOURSELF” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gulbenkian Museum (Museu Calouste Gulbenkian)

Gulbenkian Museum (Museu Calouste Gulbenkian)
Avenida de Berna 45a, Lisbon 1067-001, Portugal
+ 351 21 782 3000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 328 Activities in Lisbon
Type: Art Museums, Ballets, Concerts, Symphonies, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Gulbenkian complex features a museum that houses a magnificent private collection of Persian art, Egyptian sculptures, and paintings by the Old Masters, as well as two concert halls for music and ballet performances.
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“GO- JUDGE FOR YOURSELF”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a very nice museum with items displayed in a roomy manner. However to me it's just another museum . I guess I just don't appreciate history and art as much as I should. Go-give it a try and judge for yourself.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,440
    508
    106
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Go to Lisbon just for the Gulbenkian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a treasure trove of art, artifacts and other collectibles from all over the world. Spend a day here, the gardens are also incredible.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good but Wasn't Wowed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Don't get me wrong—this is a very nice museum, and I very much enjoyed one of the temporary exhibits there. But I read so many reviews that said it was one of Europe's best museums, that I was a little disappointed. This is not on a par with Europe's best museums like the Prado or the D'Orsay or even the two small Picasso museums in Paris and Barcelona. I much more enjoyed Lisbon's smaller, more intimate Tile and Fado Museums. If I only had a few days in Lisbon, I would skip this. If you have five days or more, knock yourself out!

P.S. They have a pretty good cafe with a nice patio.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“superb collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

the best and only the best. amazing collection of art treasures of amazing quality spanning 4,500 years in time. the japanese inzo boxes alone are worth visit

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
127 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“2 hours well spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Smaller than I expected (it only took me 2 hours to go around and I am normally slower than most as I do take my time – if you tend to whizz around these sorts of places you might do it in an hour) but really good. Not the kind of stuff you’d expect one man to collect, more the stuff a national museum would. Loads of top artists are included such as Rembrandt, Rubens, Monet, Manet & Turner. The Lalique collection is small but beautiful. Very fine furniture and ancient artifacts from different regions.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulbenkian Museum (Museu Calouste Gulbenkian) also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Gulbenkian Museum (Museu Calouste Gulbenkian)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulbenkian Museum (Museu Calouste Gulbenkian), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.