We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky alternative shops and restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bairro Alto

Bairro Alto
Lisbon, Portugal
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #17 of 216 attractions in Lisbon
Type: Neighborhoods
Activities: Nightlife, Drinking
Attraction Details
Merseyside
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Funky alternative shops and restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We explored this area on the last night and i wished i would have explored it on the first. Well worth a visit for the views, get the Elevador Da Gloria up as i thought i was having a heart attack when walking up all the steps. Lots of quirky shops and a large selection of culinary experiences.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,211
    871
    197
    39
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Elegance Meets Seedy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Barrio Alto district of Lisbon is a must see, must linger area. Within the 10 years since I previously visited this area, gentrification struck. Beautifully restored, buildings, parks, fountains, churches, hotels, have attracted trendy restaurants, designer brands, and the fashionable trend setters. But walk a, few blocks, and you still find empty decaying buildings, cheap restaurants, hostels, edgy bars, offering a variety of music and entertainment venues and those that follow that scene. The fashionable area is alive during the day, and early evening, while the seedier area, is in full bloom late nights and early mornings. Not sure, how long the two will live side by side. My bet....gentrification takes over Barrio Alto completely!
Difficult, if any handicap accessibility, to many restaurants, bars, night life, historical sites, churches, etc.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Party loving neighborhood , Bistros and Bars. Go to Cafe Luso and the best Fado Singers. It is a place fit for all generation . The food served in this Cafe is good but a bit expensive. But if on holiday, it is ok. Just be careful of your personal belongings otherwise a good place to relax

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
1 review
“i had visited Lisbon in 2010, and i stay at Barirro Alto, actually it is very nice place to stay,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

but the bathroom should be improved and equip hot water, but everything ok, i enjoy staying there.The kitchen is clean and the living room is clean and well organised big enough for come around,there were also the TV, and the comfortable Saloon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Interesting streets- a little shabby, but nicely laid out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

A bit on the touristy side with many tourist sips. But as it was raining a lot in Dec, the cheap and cheerful umbrellas were a good send! Nice street cafes to sit at and watch the world go by.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bairro Alto also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Bairro Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bairro Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bairro Alto to your Saves list