We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice neighborhood atop the Elevador da Gloria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bairro Alto

Bairro Alto
Lisbon 1200-109, Portugal
Improve this listing
Visit Bairro Alto like an insider
Special Offer
$33*
and up
Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Hop-On Hop-Off Tour...
Ranked #13 of 425 things to do in Lisbon
Activities: Nightlife, Drinking
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“A very nice neighborhood atop the Elevador da Gloria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Bairro Alto is a neighborhood atop the steep incline of the Elevador da Gloria. The neighborhood is accessible via the funicular from Praca das Restauradores. The neighborhood gems are the Iglesia and Museu de Sau Roque. The infamous O Trevo Cafe and Cafe A Brisileira are also near by. This neighborhood is a nice stroll.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,814
    1,361
    302
    60
    26
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massafra, Italy
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“the nightspot of Lisbon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It is full of clubs and little spots where you can taste bacalhau and good portuguese beer until early in the morning.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Caparinha's in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

A must for anyone on Holiday in Lisbon, in the summer it gets packer, and really gets going from about midnight. Btw the caparinha's are excellent.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Great for drinks, interesting music and meeting locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We heard a great deal about the area but were not real impressed when we first arrived as it was very quiet. Then when we came out of our restaurant at 10 that night the pàrty was starting to pick up. Plan to get there after 10 if you want to experience a great selection of small bars, live local music and tasty food. We had the best time in this tiny neighborhood. It is full of friendly local party goers and we hope to come back before we leave Spain.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Bairro Alto is a great location to stay in Lisbon. It puts you within blocks of one of the best scenic overlooks, two of the funiculars, the tram that will take you to the castle and the Belem district... It is filled with small restaurants and bars (and they stay busy well into the night). If you don't like nightlife, avoid this place. I didn't go to any of the bars, but it is a part of town that I found to be safe late at night because there are always lots of people in the streets!

Many of the attractions, shopping etc are within walking distance, and the ones that aren't are served well by public transportation right in the neighborhood. I will definately stay in Bairro Alto next time I go to Lisbon!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bairro Alto also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Bairro Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bairro Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.