We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the nightspot of Lisbon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bairro Alto

Bairro Alto
, Lisbon 1200-109, Portugal
965476181
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$33*
and up
Best Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Hop-On Hop-Off...
Ranked #15 of 309 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Nightlife, Drinking
Attraction details
Massafra, Italy
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“the nightspot of Lisbon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It is full of clubs and little spots where you can taste bacalhau and good portuguese beer until early in the morning.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,147
    1,625
    352
    70
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Caparinha's in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

A must for anyone on Holiday in Lisbon, in the summer it gets packer, and really gets going from about midnight. Btw the caparinha's are excellent.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Great for drinks, interesting music and meeting locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We heard a great deal about the area but were not real impressed when we first arrived as it was very quiet. Then when we came out of our restaurant at 10 that night the pàrty was starting to pick up. Plan to get there after 10 if you want to experience a great selection of small bars, live local music and tasty food. We had the best time in this tiny neighborhood. It is full of friendly local party goers and we hope to come back before we leave Spain.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Bairro Alto is a great location to stay in Lisbon. It puts you within blocks of one of the best scenic overlooks, two of the funiculars, the tram that will take you to the castle and the Belem district... It is filled with small restaurants and bars (and they stay busy well into the night). If you don't like nightlife, avoid this place. I didn't go to any of the bars, but it is a part of town that I found to be safe late at night because there are always lots of people in the streets!

Many of the attractions, shopping etc are within walking distance, and the ones that aren't are served well by public transportation right in the neighborhood. I will definately stay in Bairro Alto next time I go to Lisbon!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exciting nightlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

There are lots of bars, some smart shops and cafes, shops and street performers. Very entertaining. And you can ride the elevator for the experience, but it's a bit touristy and a long wait.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bairro Alto also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Bairro Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bairro Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.