We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Caparinha's in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bairro Alto

Bairro Alto
Lisbon, Portugal
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #18 of 223 attractions in Lisbon
Type: Neighborhoods
Activities: Nightlife, Drinking
Attraction Details
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Caparinha's in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

A must for anyone on Holiday in Lisbon, in the summer it gets packer, and really gets going from about midnight. Btw the caparinha's are excellent.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,307
    932
    217
    45
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Great for drinks, interesting music and meeting locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We heard a great deal about the area but were not real impressed when we first arrived as it was very quiet. Then when we came out of our restaurant at 10 that night the pàrty was starting to pick up. Plan to get there after 10 if you want to experience a great selection of small bars, live local music and tasty food. We had the best time in this tiny neighborhood. It is full of friendly local party goers and we hope to come back before we leave Spain.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Bairro Alto is a great location to stay in Lisbon. It puts you within blocks of one of the best scenic overlooks, two of the funiculars, the tram that will take you to the castle and the Belem district... It is filled with small restaurants and bars (and they stay busy well into the night). If you don't like nightlife, avoid this place. I didn't go to any of the bars, but it is a part of town that I found to be safe late at night because there are always lots of people in the streets!

Many of the attractions, shopping etc are within walking distance, and the ones that aren't are served well by public transportation right in the neighborhood. I will definately stay in Bairro Alto next time I go to Lisbon!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exciting nightlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

There are lots of bars, some smart shops and cafes, shops and street performers. Very entertaining. And you can ride the elevator for the experience, but it's a bit touristy and a long wait.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Warning...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

It's a great place if you like to party a lot (by a lot I mean being surrounded by drunk men and women who are throwing-up and falling down) but if you like a more relaxed place I would suggest not going up their during the night... I do have to say that their are great clubs and bars, but it was too wild for my taste

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bairro Alto also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Bairro Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bairro Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.