We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rubro Avenida

Rubro Avenida
Rudrigues Sampaio 35, Lisbon, Portugal
213144656
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #425 of 2,193 restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Wicklow, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited this restaurant after reading good reviews on tripadvisor and boy they were right! A very modern but cosy and welcoming place. We stayed at the Veneza Inn Hotel on Avenida Da Liberdade and Rubro is literally across the road. We tried the Degustacao which consists of a few different small samples of tapas..well worth trying, and on the advice of a traveller on trip advisor we also tried the stuffed courgettes and they were delicious.
For starters, main, desert and wine we paid €57 on our first trip and with a few extras our second trip was €82.. Our first visit was on a Wednesday and it was quite busy so the manager suggested we book for the Saturday if we wanted to return..we did and were very glad as Saturday was really busy with a constant stream of people being refused at the door!
I especially liked that they separate the smoking and non-smoking areas.
Would definetly recommend this restaurant and will return when we get to go back to Lisbon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    41
    50
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Tapas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Late night checking into our hotel and needed a bite to eat. Seems like everyone who stays at the Britannia walks down the street to Rubro. For a good reason the staff sends you down the street!!!!! The place is very busy and you need to make a reservation. Special shout out to Tiago - very helpful with the wine list. We ordered the shrimp and sea bass and veggies and salad. All were very very good! The starter bread is very good ! The Portuguese wine was very tasty too! We will return this week and would recommend it .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“very good tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Modern, friendly restaurant. The mixed tapas starter was very good and the waiter was very helpful. Great start to our stay in Lisbon. Slightly off the main road, but definatly worth looking out for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tapas with salt”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This would have been a four star review if there had not been such heavy-handedness in the kitchen with the salt. The rooms are separated so that smokers are catered for separately and the ambience is informal (bench seating at wooden tables). Service was friendly and there was good variety in the menu. Everything we tried was at least good and the pica pau of beef sirloin was excellent. Prices are reasonable but the overriding memory is a salty one..

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A double whammy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Britania Hotel and took a short walk down the block to eat at Rubro. The Hotel was lovely. A renovated 1940's Art Deco boutique hotel with incredible service. The double whammy was eating at Rubro. We had the mixed tapas as a starter, I had grilled octopus and my wife had cod. I finished off the meal with a dessert called 'leria', apparently made with sugar and 8 (YES 8) egg yolks. Two of these I'm sure would give you cardiac arrest. Anyways, we love Lisbon (my wife is Portuguese) but this 'double whammy' was spectacular. Stay at the Hotel Britania (on the 6th floor so you can have a balcony) and eat at Rubro.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubro Avenida also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Rubro Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubro Avenida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.