We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy, but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpendre

Alpendre
Rua Augusto Rosa, 32-34, Lisbon 1100-059, Portugal
+351 218 862 421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 2,193 restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yummy, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We had two 1/2 meals which was the perfect amount.....one was a winner and one was not. The mixed seafood steamed in rice was wonderful. The beans and shrimp was not the best choice. Their popularity has taught them the art of turning tables and squeezing patrons in. While the food was good, the meal was not relaxing.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    141
    80
    14
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I had a fantastic lunch at this Lisbon based restaurant with my wife and I can’t forget about it. We had an amazingly testy cataplana and I can’t wait to get back there. Everything served was fresh and really delicious. Our tour guide recommended it and we don’t know how to thank him for this magical find. From the service, everything else was amazing and the staffs were all smiles and lots of jokes were freely flowing around. I recommended this place to my friend and he told me that he had the best cod and a mixed grilled fish plate he has had in his entire life and I can’t wait to go and try this out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Being generous @ 2”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I know a lot of restaurants are closed on Monday here. I expected a few people but was surprised to find I was the only customer. Maybe the funny jester waiters are off on Monday, mine wasn't humorous at all. I had shrimp soup as a started & I thought it was bland. After reading the reviews here I decided to try the seafood & rice. I know shellfish are a type of seafood so I can't say the item is mislabeled but I was disappointed. I really wasn't expecting a bunch of mussels, claws & prawns in the shell. Makes a mess & it really wasn't that good. My first clue as to the quality of this restaurant should have been the bread rolls served in tear open plastic bags. The next clue was the plastic pouch of lemon juice for my "seafood". Two customers did finally come in after I had been there an hour & 20 min. I hope their experience was better than mine. This place would not stay open long in most cities so my guess is they have enough tourist trade to stay open. Prices & portions were reasonable but considering the quality I suggest you try elsewhere.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
“Amazing garlic prawns and fish stew!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We went to Alpendre on our last night in Lisbon. We always check reviews on trip advisor and, to be honest, I am quite surprised this place is only 20th! We're both quite a foodies and like to try different things. We came to Alpendre pretty early, around 7 pm, and were lucky enough to get one of the last tables as the place filled up pretty quickly. We started with garlic prawns, which in my humble opinion, were the best prawns I ever had! I savoured every piece. We followed by typical Portuguese fish & seafood stew with turbot which was far from a disappointment either. Watch out, as it is a bit too much for the two of us! :) It was a pleasant surprise when, including a bottle of house white and some bread & cheese as an appetiser, the bill came up to 40 euro for the two of us. We really enjoyed the company of the staff and unpretentious decor. Food was amazingly fresh and simply delicious. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious cataplana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Had a fantastic lunch here on our visit. We shared the cataplana which was amazing, really tasty. Great to see them fetch the fish from the window fridge (no idea what it was!). Everything was cooked freshly, and was just amazing. Service was very good, and with a smile and joke.
I just wish we had found it sooner, we would have eaten here one evening as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpendre also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Alpendre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpendre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.