We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, large portions,reasonable prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpendre

Alpendre
Rua Augusto Rosa, 32-34, Lisbon 1100-059, Portugal
+351 218 862 421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 2,622 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Doncaster
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, large portions,reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We came here for lunch after visiting the Castle and Se cathedral.
There was a good variety on offer. The prices were very affordable.
The food came quickly and the portions were quite large and very filling. My grilled codfish was huge. We all agreed that the food was very tasty.
Well worth trying if you are in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    127
    34
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lisbon food, atmosphere and people in one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We found this restaurant a couple of days into our stay in Lisbon, opting for the veal and breaded pork. The food was delicious and our waitor kept us laughing when he gave us a bill for 103 euros. Once the joke was up the bill came to a very reasonable 25 euros for two starters, two mains and two large beers. The restaurant was full of locals but the staff made us feel welcome even though our portugese was limited to 'hello' and 'thank you'. We even went back for a meal on our last night and were treated even more warmly - like returning friends. Would highly recommend for anyone who like meat, fish, ice cold beer and a joke with the waitors.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was the worst experinece in Lisbon...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We went this restaurant because of good reviews here, but unfortunately it was a quite disappointing experience for us. A cup of shrimp soup was tasteless, and the worst one was the shrimps in the cooked rice.... Seafood was a little fishy but what we could not tolerate was "fake imitation-crab " in there!!! After having amazing experiences in other several restaurants in Lisbon who can provide cheaper and nicer dishes, we regret why we chose this for our lunch. (But if you are a big fun of fake imitation crab, this is the restaurant you should go)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Fantastic restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have to say the staff provided us an excellent dining experience! I had my meals in various restaurants during my Lisbon trip, incl those getting stars in Michelin guide, Alpendre is the one providing the best service! Food is good, portion is generous and price being very reasonable!

PS Hammer and Red are the keywords. You will know what I am referring to after paying a visit to this restaurant!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“tasty dishes!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a very nice dinner despite we get in the restaurant very late (23.30). Everything was tasty (especially my "Carne de porco a la Alentejada, pork with a clams sauce) and fresh and the price was tasty as well. ALENTEJADA VERY RECOMMENDED!!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpendre also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Alpendre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpendre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.