We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A work of Art; a beautiful day out.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cristo Rei Statue

Cristo Rei Statue
Avenida Cristo Rei 27A, Lisbon 2800-056, Portugal (Baixa)
21 275 1000
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #20 of 214 attractions in Lisbon
Type: Monuments/ Statues
Attraction Details
Athens,Greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A work of Art; a beautiful day out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

From Cais do Sodre I boarded the boat to Cacilhas. There is one boat every 20 minutes and the trip takes 15 minutes. The return ticket costs 2.80€, and I think the viva viagem day card can be used. From the port I took bus number 101, return ticket 1.90€, that left me to the entrance of the area where the Statue is located. Unfortunately the bus leaves every 30 minutes, and to go to the statue on foot is not advisable. The elevator to the top costs 4€, and the Statue is really great. Certainly the view from the top is breathtaking, and -from what I saw-Setubal district is amazing. I wish I had made plans to stay more to this place, because I would have liked to wander around on foot, by bus or by tram. The harbour is pathetic, but just around any corner I could see the beginnings of a beautiful city. While being up on the Statue's feet I noticed the lights that were there – to be switched on at night. So I returned to Cais do Sodre at night and saw this magnificent Statue shining. I went there on Saturday, it was slightly crowded; I suppose things must be worse Sundays.
Advice: don’t be late leaving the boat, because if you are one minute late and miss the bus, you will have to wait an entire half hour, which is what happened to me. In general a good planning is necessary. The lift takes some time to get you to the ground floor, (it cannot be used only by one person, it must be almost full) and while on the ground you will need to run to the bus –it is there, you see it, but you must go the bus stop as well; and be on time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    131
    26
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wow! What a view!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The visit was delightful! We had a very pleasant boat journey from Cais de Soudre across the River and then got the 101 bus up the hill. There is a very pleasant coffee shop and we enjoyed sitting outside in the sunshine. We didn't go up the Statue as the view from the base was good enough - and we felt that 5 Euros was a bit pricey. Our views across the river were amazing! The Discoverers Monument can be seen from here way over in Belem if you know where to look. With the afternoon sum shining on Lisbon, it makes for a very pleasant way to spend the afternoon. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blagoveschensk
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
110 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“very significant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Cristo-Rei is a real landmark in Lisbon. To erect the monument plenty of people contributed their money. They beliieved that Portugal was spared the effects of World War II due to their zealous prayers. Now the enormous statue of Christ embracing the city stands on the southern bank of Tejo river and can be seen from any part of Lisbon. That side is actually a residential suburb and the area around the statue is being developed, not much to see. There’s a small chapel inside. Bit the views from the very top and the observation deck are spectacular!
Tip: A budget option is to take a train from Entre Campos. And the taxi from the station on that side to the monument is only a couple of euros, station assistants help to get one. Come at 5 PM to avoid crowds.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“fantastic view of the beautiful city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

we very much enjoyed our little trip to the statue. We took the boat to cacihlas and then the 101 bus to the statue (very easy and simple to do)

We arrived pretty late at around 17:45 to find we were just in time to make the last lift up to the top as they close at 18:00 - to bare that in mind when you go. It cost 5 euro to go up to the top and honestly the views are pretty good from the bottom of the statue if you really dont want to pay. Im glad we went to the top though, you get a fantastic 360 degree view and im happy we went later in the afternoon as was not so busy or too hot.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A perfect look out Spot !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Although it takes time to arrive this statue (you need to take the a ferry/boat to Cacilhas (takes about 15-20 min) and from there the bus number 101) it worth the effort ! It costs 5 Euros to go up to the top by the elevator. i was impressed by the statue but much more by the great view of the city and the famous 25 of April Bridge .you can take there many wonderful pics !

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cristo Rei Statue also viewed

 

Been to Cristo Rei Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cristo Rei Statue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.