We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, Awesome hotel, staff and view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LX Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added LX Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
LX Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Alecrim, N12, Lisbon 1200-017, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 227 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location, Awesome hotel, staff and view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed in LX Boutique Hotel (unfortunately only) for one night on our way back from the Azores. We would have loved to stay longer, however we had to catch a plane home the next morning.

The location is amazing in Chiado, just next to the Barrio Alto. The receptionists indeed are super friendly and we as well were upgraded to the 5th floor.
The complimentary welcome glass of wine and sushi really topped it off.

We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lxboutiquehotel, Owner at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your review and see it on the bright side, once it was only for one night, it's almost granted you'll come back to our fantastic city! The Azores are unique and I'm not sure you could take so many unique experiences in only one journey! We'll be waiting for your return!

Anything you may need from us or form the city don't hesitate to contact us. Keep up the news following our fb page.

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    249
    46
    11
    8
See reviews for
63
427
37
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The decor had personality! The common area is beautiful, and they serve fruit infused water, port wine, and Belem pastries throughout the day. Even though we were on the first floor, we weren't affected by the noise from the street. The hotel is walking distance to everything!
The beds were really comfortable and I slept well.
The staff were friendly, made a fado reservation for us, organized a taxi for us.
Wifi is available in the rooms.
Just be aware that you don't get a lot of privacy in the bathroom- frosted glass panels only.
We didn't eat there- but I heard their restaurant is really great as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lxboutiquehotel, Owner at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words, it was great to have you staying with us! "Personality", from all the reviews you've had this last 3 years, this is the best description ever. On your next visit you can't miss the restaurant, and breakfast...the breakfast is unique!

When you do come back, contact us directly and get access to our special rates (not available online). In the meanwhile keep up the city and hotel news through our fb page.

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Great well appointed individual rooms in this stylish old hotel. Very friendly helpful staff , would definitely stay again , good river and city views from balcony . Beware of taxi drivers overcharging from the airport, fare shouldn't be more than €20

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lxboutiquehotel, Owner at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, it was great to host at lx boutique hotel.

About your advise on the taxi fares, allow me to remember the hotel cam arrange a private transfer for you or, if you're travelling light, do take the subway do Cais do Sodre, the station is 100mt from the hotel.

On your next visit to Lisbon, contact us directly to get special rates (not available online). Hope to see you soon in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed 4 nights at LX and had a wonderful stay. Friendly staffs, beautiful rooms and bathrooms and good location. The rooms are not that small as some people suggest. At least not the essential riverfront we had. Plenty of space for all our luggages and more room if needed. The deco is so well done. It looks great. The beds were so comfortable I could have stayed in bed all day if I hadn't been in such a great city. We couldn't hear outside noise from our room but we were on the 4th floor. Breakfast was great, very nice selection. The complimentary pasteis and port were a nice touch as well as the free drink and sushi on our first day. Would definately stay there again if in Lisbon again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lxboutiquehotel, Owner at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and sorry for my late reply. I feel we became a plus on your last Lisbon Xperience and I totally agree with your remarks...location, comfort, quality and costumer care, these are on the top of our mind!

On your next visit, don't hesitate to contact us directly and gain access to our exclusive rates (not available online). In the meanwhile keep up the city and hotel news through our fb page.

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

stayed here for long weekend - would stay again without question

location is great though at bottom of hill up to old town but hills cant be avoided in Lisbon

rooms were modern and comfortable - watch out for frosted glass panel that spate washroom from bedroom - it leaves little to the imagination

showers -good

hotel bar good and sushi offered excellent

perfect location and 2 mins walk to train station to get train to beaches - also perfect for the lively bars and clubs that Lisbon offers in the area - we had some excellent boozy nights out !!!

Room Tip: the higher the better as then you are away from any street noise if its there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lxboutiquehotel, Owner at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Martin,

Thank you for your review and sorry for my late reply. It was a pleasure having you with us, and to read that you would stay again with us without a question means mission accomplished.

You've pointed out some of our main assets (just missed our unique breakfast..) but allow me to comment on the frosted glass issue. The new river front rooms are prepared with shutters so one can get some more privacy.

Hope to see you soon in the near future. Follow our facebook page and keep up with all the news.

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
(Hotel Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed one night due to stopover from Sweden to Morocco, and regret that we only had one night at this amazing place. It is centrally located and only 3min from the nearest subway station, so you can take the subway all the way from the airport to the hotel - convenient, cheap and best option regarding environment. Staff was friendly and helpful upon arrival. Room was amazing and probably some of the coolest design I have ever seen in a hotel room. Area around hotel is packed with bars and restaurants, so no need to worry about food or drink. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lxboutiquehotel, Owner at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words, I'll pass them to our staff. Even if only for one night I'm happy you've enjoyed your stay with us, I feel we've overcame your best expectations and that's that best you can wish for!

Please do come back and contact me directly to get access to our special rates (not available on line). In the meanwhile keep up the city verve and hotel news through our facebook page.

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
(Hotel Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had a great 4 day stay here recently, with my husband and two adult children. The rooms are very well decorated and quite large. The bathroom was a bit unusual though, as they put us in a disabled room (101) which meant no shower screen and water going everywhere. They couldn't move us as they were fully booked, but they were happy to come in each evening (and morning) and wipe it all up and give us fresh towels, so it really wasn't too inconvenient.

Loved the complementary Port and Portuguese Tarts in the lobby each day as well as the "welcome" sushi and wine which was available everyday from 7:30-8:00pm for free. That made us feel very welcome!

Location is very good, close to lots of nice restaurants, hip bars, clubs (for the 20 somethings) and the railway station (for our day trip to Cascais).

Staff very helpful, but maybe not quite as informed as they could have been. One restaurant they recommended, Sacramento, was excellent; but the Fado restaurant they sent us to was very average and after being told it wouldn't cost extra for the show, it cost 15 Euros each extra! Also they told us there was nothing to do in Cascais, except see the beach, but we saw a fantastic Paula Rega museum there. The bar staff also do not appear to know the local area very well either as they could not recommend a restaurant for dinner (but maybe this is cause they wanted us to eat there).

Overall I would recommend the LX because I loved the location and the beautiful decor (candles everywhere at night and beautiful large wall size posters in each room), but I would suggest you use a guide book or the net and not really rely on the expertise of the always friendly staff.

Room Tip: Room 101 is a disabled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lxboutiquehotel, Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Karen,

Thank you for your review, I'll pass all the feedback to the hotel staff. I'm very happy we're able to match your expections a became a plus on your most recent lisbon xperience. Hope to see you soon in the near future.

About the lack of knowledge of the front desk staff, it's something that upsets me. They were trained to know the city as the back of their hands. By any chance could you send me a private e-mail mentioning the days you stayed with us?

Cascais is beautufill (I live there) and Sintra is unique, on a next visit you can't miss it. Please contact us directly to gain access to our special rates, not available online. In the meanwhile keep up with the city news and hotel promotions following our facebook page.

Kind regards
Gonçalo Dias
(Hotel Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to LX Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LX Boutique Hotel

Address: Rua do Alecrim, N12, Lisbon 1200-017, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 227 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LX Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the triangle between Chiado, Baixa and Cais do Sodré districts, Lx Boutique Hotel offers themed rooms with unique views over Lisbon and Tejo River. All Boutique Hotel elegant rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a mini-bar, and a private bathroom. There is an iPod docking station, LCD TV and free Wi-Fi in every room.Guest can enjoy Confraria, a trendy sushi restaurant that also serves a variety of teas, beverages and wines all day. For a typical Portuguese food experience, there are several alternatives just outside the door. Lx Boutique Hotel is 5 minutes’ walk from several restaurants, bars, cafés and shops. Guests can benefit from the 24-hour front desk service Lx Boutique Hotel provides. It also offers laundry and car hire services. An airport transfer shuttle is available upon request. Historical sites and museums such as Lisbon Cathedral, Praça do Comércio, Igreja de São Roque and the Chiado Museum are within a 10-minute walk. Lisbon’s Portela International Airport is within a 20-minute drive away or a 10-minute metro journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your LX Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LX Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.