We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lisbon B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The House

Save Saved
You added The House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The House
Travessa do Pinheiro 11, 4th floor, Lisbon 1200-763, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 134 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Lisbon B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently stayed at The House with two other girlfriends (all from Chicago). Francisco, the owner, greeted us warmly by name upon our early check-in and invited us to enjoy some breakfast while they finished preparing our room. He and the rest of the staff (Catarina and Pedro) were extremely accommodating and helpful throughout the course of our 7-night stay. Their English was impeccable, and they were quick to offer suggestions on restaurants and activities. They also helped with logistics related to trains and taxis.

We stayed in the master bedroom, which has two twin beds, and they added a double bed for our third. The cost for having a third person in the room was minimal. The room itself was large and had a nice patio, and we were able to access the complementary wifi throughout the hotel. We had a private detached bathroom that was just outside our bedroom door. The hotel rooftop offered stunning views of the city and the ocean and provided a nice spot to sit and enjoy and evening cocktail. We all loved the black-and-white decor of the upstairs hallway.

Breakfast was simple yet sufficient - bread, cheese, fruit, yogurt, cereal, coffee, and juice. From what I understand they are happy to make you eggs should you ask, but the spread that they provided was plenty for us.

Though not located in the Bairro Alto/Chiado nightlife neighborhood, The House is conveniently located near the Estrela Basilica, where there were always plenty of taxis. A cab ride into the center of the city took about 10 minutes and cost roughly 6 euros - very reasonable. Also, the #28 tram, which runs throughout the entire city, stops very nearby The House.

We had an excellent week in Lisbon due in large part to the friendly, professional staff at The House, and we would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Portugal's capital city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    32
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
48
182
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We visited Lisbon for a special weekend away and stayed at TheHOUSE due to the amazing reviews on TripAdvisor. It completely exceeded our expectations. Perfectly located, beautiful rooms, delicious food and the friendliest staff you can imagine. If you are looking for the perfect combination of small hotel / boutique B&B, this is it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcpcc1, Owner at The House, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Nick,


Just to thank you for your lovely review and let you know that I will have more suggestions for restaurants and bars next time you come.

Hope to see you both soon,

Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for 3 nights in early November 2012 and I firmly believe The House's #1 ranking is justified!

From the moment we received a greeting email from Francisco after making our reservation to being welcomed by the ever-so-lovely Rita upon our arrival, The House had lived up to our expectations.

The House was well-designed and decorated and ideally situated from the tram/funicular stops.
Francisco and Rita were more than happy to assist us with any queries we had regarding attractions to visit and restaurants to dine in, and were always ready to lend us one of their guide books.

Breakfast was a treat with an array of pastries, fruits and cold-cuts with the option of having bacon and eggs if requested. To top it off, the freshly squeezed orange juice was simply heavenly and we found ourselves frequently refilling our glasses!

What made our stay at The House even more memorable was the view from the rooftop terrace. What can I say? Absolutely stunning! It was a shame that unseasonal weather spoilt the cracking view on 2 of the 3 days, but we were lucky enough to soak it on the first day when it was bright and sunny.

Overall, a very pleasant experience at The House and we thank Francisco and Rita (and the team) for their efforts in ensuring that. I hope our paths cross again in the not too distant future.

Ben & Kun

Room Tip: If you ever forget the address of The House and unsure about how to travel back (via taxi/tram/funic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The House was recommended by a friend and from the moment we walked in we knew it was a good one. The House has a lovely feel to it (the exterior of the building is deceiving) and is beautifully decorated. We stayed in the Library which us one of the smallest rooms but it was fine for two people. The thing that makes The House is the staff - Pilar and Pedro were great for recommending and booking restaurants, advice on travel, sightseeing recommendations etc but they took a genuine interest in your wellbeing and your activities. The most common phrase we heard was "can we do anything for you?". The rooftop terrace is a great place to chill out and the hinesty bar is a great idea. Breakfast is generous and had enough variety for our 4 day stay. Nowhere in Lisbon seems to be very far away and this was true of The House. I would absolutely recommend The House if you are heading to Lisbon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

For starters do take Francisco's advice about taking a taxi from the arrivals area at the airport. If the cab driver is unsure about the address tell him it is near the Basilica Estrella that will get you to the right area.

We stayed in the Girl's Room which was cozy, warm and very clean.
The breakfast area is relaxing and there was a nice selection of continental items and bacon & eggs were available, just ask since the breakfast staff seem a little shy. The adjacent lounge/tv area was a nice spot to chill and review the many guidebooks on Lisbon.

The wow factor here is the glassed in rooftop terrace with it's great view of Lisbon! We were staying during New Year's Eve and it was an amazing spot to watch the fireworks. Francisco treated all the guests to champagne and snacks, a great way to bring in 2013!
The terrace also has an honour bar for wine, beer, port, coffee and tea a nice treat at the end of a busy day.

The other major plus is Francisco, Pilar & Pedro's guidance and knowledge of Lisbon and it's environs. They provided invaluable advice and took the guesswork out of exploring the city, Belem, Sintra and Cascais.
Taking their advice we took Tram 28, which stops very nearby, up to the top and then casually walked down taking in the scenic view points and stopping for a lunch and a glass of vinho tinto. Lisbon is hilly so take the trams and funiculars, your calves, quads, gluts and knees will thank you!

The location of The House is another plus. It's easy to get to any part of the city by cab (inexpensive too), public transport, even walking (make sure it's downhill!).
The Basilica Estrella at the end of the street is worth a visit as is the lovely park across the street from the church. There's even a small shop up at the top of the street where you can buy fruit, water and of course a bottle of great Portuguese wine.

We always look for a spot that will get us feeling comfortable and quickly "localized" on our journeys. The House with it's great staff made us feel like Lisboans in no time.

Thanks Francisco, Pilar, Pedro and staff for making our Lisbon adventure so memorable!

Cheers,

Mark & Heather (the Canadian Winemakers)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

According to Trip Advisor reviews we choose The House.
Francisco welcomed us on Xmas Day and quickly showed us all the house/tarrace. We were accomodated in Library room which is pretty small but cosy. Comfortable bed, well working air condition/ heating, good shower pressure. Housekeeping services daily. Breakfast was fine/ continental. Big thanks to Pilar,Francisco and Pedro to all their help. We were given trip tips every morning before we left The House. Maps/leaflets etc were provided by staff. There was no problem for them to book us taxi or table in restaurant.
Great location, walking distance (3 min) to Estrella and famous 28 tram.
If you not sure which room be suitable for you please contact The House directly, the room info on their website is confusing.
Many thanks The House to made our stay fantastic.
Marta & Monika

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Our first trip to Lisbon was made all the more special by the amazing hosts at The House who went above and beyond when it came to hospitality. The place is outstanding with a fantastic view from the rooftop terrace and picturesque tram ride into the centre. We look forward to one day making it back to The House. Colin + Vince (Australia)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House

Address: Travessa do Pinheiro 11, 4th floor, Lisbon 1200-763, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In what used to be a big family's home in the best neighbourhood in Lisbon, The HOUSE is a "boutique B&B" that offers its guests a sophisticated but relaxed ambiance inside, and a terrace with a breathtakingly beautiful view over Lisboa. Come, you will feel at home in The HOUSE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.