We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The House- a home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The House to your Saves list
The House
Travessa do Pinheiro 11, 4th floor, Lisbon 1200-763, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #5 of 150 Lisbon B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The House- a home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

The House offered us a welcoming reception, and a friendly proactive and professional service throughout our stay of three nights. Francisco is a warm, open and diligent host. Our room, Chiado, was impeccably appointed and aesthetically very pleasing. One feels no corners have been cut . The bed was extremely comfortable- and the room so peaceful- we couldn't have had a better night 's sleep. The balcony is great, and the roof terrace tops it all! The House is located in a quiet area- so if you want to be in the tourist hub-bub it might not be for you- but it is a short walk from all the action and on the main tram route 28. Personally, we found it more interesting and authentic to stay in this area- and found some great local places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    34
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
56
196
41
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in TheHouse in February/March. But I wouldn't have mind to spend a few more days there!

All rooms are superclean. And trust me, I checked it thorougly ;) (I am allergic to everything...) Not only our own room (Lapa) was spotless, but also the lounge, breakfast area and terrace were well taken care of. Beds were comfy. At night TheHouse was calm and quiet. And no street noise as well.

The breakfast buffet consisted of: several kinds of bread, cheese, meat, jam, honey, coffee, tea, juice, water, 2 types of cereal, milk, yoghurt, something sweet like cakes or local pastries (which were yum btw), and fruit.

There is a lounge for those who'd like to watch tv, read a book or magazine, or use the B&B's laptop with internet connection.

On the top floor is a terrace with the most stunning view of a city that I have ever seen. Probably the best view in Lisbon! The terrace has an inside and outside area. From both you can see the 200 degrees view. Inside is a lounge, where you can have e.g. a coffee, beer, glass of wine, or soft drink. Self service. Prices are reasonable.

This B&B is located next to the Basilica da Estrela. Nearby (2-minute-walk) are busstops and tramstops. Nearest subway is a 10-minute-walk. Since there is no subway or train connection from the airport to the city centre, we decided to take a taxi to TheHouse (which cost us €15 - on a Saturday). However, there are special aerobuses that take you to the centre for €3,50, so that's an option as well, but it will take you much longer and you'll need to change to a bus or tram in the centre.

From TheHouse you can easily get to all the interesting places Lisbon has to offer by public transport. Buses and trams leave regularly and even on time! Tip: buy a 48h Carris Yellowbus card for €19 per person. It will take you everywhere! You can use 2 different hop-on hop-off bus routes, and all Carris buses and trams (also historical tram 28).

Although TheHouse is not in Baixa (the actual city centre), we felt it was a good location anyway, since interesting sights are all around Lisbon. Public transport is cheap, and there are many ways to get back to the Basilica da Estrela.

Host Francisco was very helpful and checked almost daily if we needed any tips or help. All in all a great experience in a great city and B&B! Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

The House and Lisbonne: definitely love at first sight. Me and my husband stayed at The House 3 nights at the end of February and everything was just as we wished. The location couldn't be better, the building is situated in a nice and calm neighborhood. We can just hop on on one of the major and most well-known tram lines (28 & 25) and can get straight to the downtown. Other than that there is a nice garden and basilica just few minutes of walk from The House. The rooms are spacious, very clean, nicely decorated with great beds, so you sleep just like at home. Fransisco and the girls are more than helpful, always available if not in person than on the phone. From the rooftop terrace there is a breathtaking view on the city and you can see many of the greatest monuments. It is really great, especially when the weather is warm and the sun is shining. So staying at The House is a real experience that no hotel can provide. The next time I go to Lisbon, I will definitely book one of Fransisco's rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

we stayed at the house, lisboa for a week in feb.
the place is very well located, clean, new, astonishing roof-view equipped, warm but above all, it is what the owner/manager francisco (and his colleague girl) is doing out of it that is amazing..
little chocolates on the bed on the arrival day, chitchat to understand what we'll expect during the stay, always available but discreet.
we had one little disagreement that was so small we kept it for ourselves for the stay; francisco was disappointed we didin't tell him. this man has plan for service, and make his customers happy, and no joke, he did it. he made my last stays in major hotels (for work) look service-dull.
on the breathtaking view from the terrace, a minibar is available, francisco only requires that you write what you take. he means trust, and it just feels good.

we felt good everytime we came back from the days out. i hope the expected success he ill definitely have will not alter his sense of service and his kindness.

we'll definitely go back and/or send f&f there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

'The House' is the fourth floor of a town house situated in a nice residential area of Lisbon, a short ride to the centre of the city by tram, which stops a couple of minutes walk away.
The furnishings are contemporary, and the rooms and bedrooms spotlessly clean and comfortable. The partly enclosed terrace at the top has magnificent views over the river Tagus and Lisbon. One of the bedrooms, a floor lower, has its own small balcony with a similar view and is worth paying the extra for. Francisco, mine host, was most charming and helpful and anxious to make our stay in Lisbon memorable, with many suggestions.
A couple of pieces of advice for arriving – our taxi was unsure of the exact location. Have a Google map of the location available to show the driver before he sets off. There is no external signage when arriving and you have to look out for the building number. Entry is by loudspeaker bell push with the name beside the top button.
We stayed 4 nights and would stay again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed for two nights at The House in Lisbon. Francisco, the owner, was extremely helpful and explained us the way around Lisbon nicely. The rooms are spotless clean, very tastefully and stylish decorated. The same applies to lounge and breakfast room. The best part is the upstairs terrace with a stunning view (see picture) over Lisbon. Needless to say that The House has a small bar up there and one can enjoy the sunset with a glass of port wine. This is B&B at its best.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

This was my third trip to Lisbon in the last year, but by far my favorite place to stay. Francisco and Joana were helpful and accomodating. Francisco took our last minute reservation and accomodated an early check-in. Joana was informative and helpful. Our room was comfortable, with an adjacent, but private bath. The views from the deck are breathtaking, the hotel was redecorated recently and is tastefully elegant. We saw the best Fado on this trip at Sr. Vinho which was a five minute walk from The House.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House

Address: Travessa do Pinheiro 11, 4th floor, Lisbon 1200-763, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In what used to be a big family's home in the best neighbourhood in Lisbon, The HOUSE is a "boutique B&B" that offers its guests a sophisticated but relaxed ambiance inside, and a terrace with a breathtakingly beautiful view over Lisboa. Come, you will feel at home in The HOUSE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.