We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Bar do Castelo

Wine Bar do Castelo
Rua Bartolomeu de Gusmao 13 | Castelo Sao Jorge, Lisbon, Portugal
+351 218 879 093
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 2,350 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $7 - $72
Cuisines: Portuguese, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Winebar for wine lovers, more than 150 Portuguese wines by glass, casual and cosy atmosphere, located near the entrance of the Lisbon Castle of Sao Jorge. Opens daily 12h-22h.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The wine, cheese and ham in this place were excellent and so were the staff. The only draw back is the closing time.. around 8pm so make sure you go early.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    112
    28
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A unique moment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Our first time in Lisboa, our first stop to drink a glass a wine.
We received a warm welcome and started a very nice wine tasting. There was no rush, just pleasure, real tasting (we tasted at least 3 different wines before choosing the actual one we were going to drink... never seen in Paris!) and pleasant chat with the bartenders. Cherry on the cake was a gorgeous tasting of Madeira wine from 1883! Can you believe it? These guys can offer it to you! Our advice is simple: if you know your wines, go for it, you will enjoy the experience. If you don't... well, too bad, but you will still enjoy a great time at the Wine Bar - just show your interest!
Note: olive oils and cheese were also delicious!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“How Do You Say "Amazingly Wonderful" in Portuguese?!?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I was staying nearby at the Solar do Castelo (so the much-hyped climb was part of my day.) But what fueled the up-and-down of getting to that lovely area was the Wine Bar do Castelo. Ruicosta and Luciana were warm and inviting (owner Nuno I met later) and not only was the SELECTION amazing and the PRICE more than appropriate... But the time they take with wine lovers of all experience levels is OUTSTANDING. You describe the kind of wine you like, and suddenly two or three bottles arrive before you, with proper glassware and incredible knowledge by the servers. With generous tasting pours and thorough descriptions, they will bend over backwards to help you find a glass you like! Food is more snacky nosh (though the mixed olives were the best I had in town!) but as they close earlyish (around 8) it's a perfect place to stop in for a few glasses before dinner. I am a 'professional Wineau' and have visited my fair share of wine bars; this one is memorable for so many reasons. I went a few times and will miss them when I go home! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very impolite”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I dont understand all the positive reviews on tripadvisor as the food is ok, wine fine but the owner is the most impolite i ever seen. He meerly fired us just for asking a question about the wine and he was insulting in portuguese thinking we wouldnt undertand

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Winebar_do_Castelo, Owner at Wine Bar do Castelo, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

We have our serious doubts you were actually at our winebar. We are very proud of our excelent service and our staff is always very attentive and kind, as most Portuguese people are, anywhere you go.
It's part of culture having guests and meeting new people and we are always happy to share our passion for our wines and great food. Your review says our food is good and so are the wines, so why did you give a one-star rating only? Please don't be offended if we asked you to describe the wines you like, this helps us find the best wines matching your taste. And that's also why we always offer our clients a tasting of several diferent wines before they make their order, this is to ensure our guests really drink their favorite. We are very committed to offer the best experience possible.

We hope you can visit us again,
Best regards
Nuno Santos & Daniel Afonso

Managers
Winebar do Castelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“These Guys Know Wine!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Not only are they experts in wine, but they are warm and inviting. Cheese and meat platter were excellent, and the wines we tried were carefully selected by Rui & Luciana each better than the last. What an amazing experience! We popped in for 1 quick drink, and ended up staying several hours chatting, making new friends and enjoying wine. Great little spot in Lisbon!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Bar do Castelo also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Wine Bar do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Bar do Castelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.