We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Bar by the Castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Bar do Castelo

Wine Bar do Castelo
Rua Bartolomeu de Gusmao 13 | Castelo Sao Jorge, Lisbon, Portugal
+351 218 879 093
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 2,251 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $7 - $72
Cuisines: Portuguese, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Winebar for wine lovers, more than 150 Portuguese wines by glass, casual and cosy atmosphere, located near the entrance of the Lisbon Castle of Sao Jorge. Opens daily 12h-22h.
lancs
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wine Bar by the Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very good service. Good all round knowledge about Portuguese wines and ports. Nice selection of cheeses and cold meats.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    430
    88
    26
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
1 review
“Very poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

poor service and expensive wine, i don't reccomend this wine bar. Maybe if you are in te area by the castle and just because of the wine, nothing more

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winebar_do_Castelo, Owner at Wine Bar do Castelo, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Regarding your review, we're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy staying at Winebar do Castelo. From your description, you didn't try the many outstanding wines and delicacies we have. We have wines starting from 4€, not expensive at all, and most of these wines are not for sale in supermarkets and have won prizes nationally and internationally. Portugal produces some of the best wines in the world. Yes, the wines are really the best reason to visit us, we have more than 150 on our list. We work for passionate people who love and appreciate outstanding wines, and we try to share this passion with our customers. We hope you can visit us again in the future and enjoy a glass of wine, with a board of smoked ham and traditional cheese, just outside the entrance to the medieval castle of São Jorge.
Best regards,
Winebar do Castelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aaverage experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Better than others wine bars we visited in. Lisboa but with lol quality food. Good knowledge about some. Portugueses wines. The price os Very expensive for the cost of wines in Portugal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Great Find Near the Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you want to learn about Portuguese wines and ports, the Wine Bar do Castelo is the place to visit. The owner has a wealth of knowledge about wines, along with what should be served with each type. Be open to experimenting with the different wines and tastes. You'll learn a lot about wine and your personal tastes.

The staff is friendly and extremely attentive. They even helped us in locating a bag left at our hotel.

The Wine Bar do Castelo is not easy to find and seating is limited. If you have a reservation, you have their full attention. Without a reservation, you probably won't get in. It fills up every night for a reason. It was one of our favorite outings in Lisbon.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A lovely bar coupled with superb knowledge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wow! I was so glad to visit this bar for a much-needed glass of white port before I crossed the street to eat at 100 Manieras Bistro. What a shame we don't have bars like it in the UK. The staggering range of Portuguese wines and ports was a joy to behold and I was even taken into the temperature controlled "cellar" where I gazed on a bottle of port costing nearly 500 euros! Definitely recommended. I am afraid I cannot comment on the food, as I didn't eat here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Bar do Castelo also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Wine Bar do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Bar do Castelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;