We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the best!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sr. Fado de Alfama

Sr. Fado de Alfama
Rua dos Remedios 176 | Alfama, Lisbon 1100, Portugal
+351 914 431 971
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 2,539 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $47 - $67
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: On off the least pretentious of Lisbon's Fado restaurants is also one of its finest. Hosts Duarte Santos and Ana Marina treat guests as family and the homely ambiance is warming and inviting. The homemade gastronomy is noted for its textures and flavours and generous portions, with the seafood cataplana (stew) a much-lauded feast. The menu is limited, but here it's all about the quality of the food. As for the entertainment, this is local fado at its most authentic -- the singers and musicians have known each other for years, and the performance is heartfelt and genuine. Quite often, diners are invited to join in which makes the evening truly memorable.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This was the best!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was an absolutely amazing experience. As soon as we walked in, we felt like we were long lost family. The owner and his wife are the waiter and cook. They make everyone in this small restaurant feel like they are all friends sharing a joyful experience. After dinner, which was extremely good, all the plates are cleared. The cook, owner, goes into another room and emerges dressed up to sing. The owner (whose name I have forgotten) sits down with another musician and for the next two house puts on an authentic and wonderful Fado performance with his wife singing and 2 guest performers. This was the best experience we had in Lisbon and we would recommend it to anyone. A reservation several days or a week in advance is recommended. Several people were turned away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Owner at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
dear friends

Thank you so much for your words and understand our effort and hard work, which although made of heart, becomes lighter when understood by good people, like you, who know and receive what we try to show you, to open our doors , our hearts and our traditions

Many thanks and see you another day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    89
    27
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This is the one thing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is the real thing! If you only can do one thing in L this is the one. From 8-01 this is a perfekt celebration of hospitality, good food and fado.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Owner at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
dear friends

luckily we got to give them an unforgettable birthday. We are always happy when our only and main goal is achieved, which is what our clients and friends, take an evening in memory memorable and unforgettable. Obviously the fact arrive with an open heart is halfway to the success of the night A big hug and our thanks for choosing us to spend your birthday and who knows ...... until next year :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lancashire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“A great way to celebrate a birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Four of us celebrated a sixtieth birthday at Senhor Fado's. We contacted the restaurant beforehand to ensure a booking. Just as well, as it was full to capacity. We had a lovely evening. Ana is an exceptional cook and Duarte an engaging host and both are superb singers. We tried both of the cataplanas, seafood and porco à alenteijana - mmmm delicioso! The music then followed, seriously good fado accompanied by great guitar playing. Our birthday boy's big O event was acknowledged and celebrated by our fadistas. The audience, about two dozen people, was truly international - Belgians, Brazilians, Turks, Australians, Portuguese and our own group from East Lancashire. Fado is an acquired taste, but to go through life and not acquire it is to miss out on a truly great European cultural tradition. 'Uma casa portuguesa fica bem' as the song goes - (a Portuguese home is a good place to be) - so is Senhor Fado's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Owner at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
dear friends

This was our honor that you have chosen our home for a day so special.
We loved meeting them and have them among us. We hope to see them the next time you return to Portugal.

a big hug of friendship and all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A lot of fun from the moment you walk in the door. Duarte is highly entertaining whether taking orders, serving, or playing the guitar (or turning the lights back on). He keeps everybody smiling and really works to make sure all his guests have a good time. He speaks a half dozen languages and he put them all to good use as there was a real international mix in the restaurant.

We – like most everybody else – ordered the cataplana which was quite good and more than enough for two people. The whole dinner was very good – maybe not three star cuisine but nice appetizers, a tasty seafood main and a good desert. The wine was also good and plentiful.

The fun really started with the Fado. In a small place like this you really feel part of the action. Ana Marina right in front of you, the guitar players almost touching your elbow and then you discover the woman at the table next to you is a guest singer. Really a memorable, unique experience.

As far as cost goes, Sr. Fado, with a nice dinner followed by very good Fado is a bargain. Go!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Owner at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
dear friends

Thank you so much for your words and we were very happy that you had a pleasant evening and fun, this is the objective when we vacation. Be happy;)

a big hug and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant to visit when in Lisbon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Located in the beautiful and charming streets of Alfama. The owners are very passionate in what they do which is everything from food to entertainment. The food seafood cataplana was delicious made by one of the owners (wife) and wine made by the owner (husband). We were a large group of 18 visiting from the US and London celebrating my parents 50th wedding anniversary. It was a special time and we were happy that we were able to visit Sr. Fado while in Lisbon. We did not know of Fado until we visited this restaurant and now we love it! All the musicians and the singer were wonderful! Truly a must to visit when in Lisbon! Thank you for a memorable experience for all of us. The kids loved the food and learned about fado which is treasure of Portugal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Owner at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you friends for your visit and the wonderful family who helped us have a great night

keep returning and a big hug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sr. Fado de Alfama also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Sr. Fado de Alfama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sr. Fado de Alfama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.