We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sr. Fado de Alfama

Sr. Fado de Alfama
Rua dos Remedios 176 | Alfama, Lisbon 1100, Portugal
+351 914 431 971
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 2,363 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $47 - $67
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: On off the least pretentious of Lisbon's Fado restaurants is also one of its finest. Hosts Duarte Santos and Ana Marina treat guests as family and the homely ambiance is warming and inviting. The homemade gastronomy is noted for its textures and flavours and generous portions, with the seafood cataplana (stew) a much-lauded feast. The menu is limited, but here it's all about the quality of the food. As for the entertainment, this is local fado at its most authentic -- the singers and musicians have known each other for years, and the performance is heartfelt and genuine. Quite often, diners are invited to join in which makes the evening truly memorable.
Cluj Napoca
1 review
“excellent evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a lovely evening, a unique experience. The host was wery frendly and amiable, offering us a homely athmosfere. We had a great cataplana (house specialty with sea food, a moorish dish as mr. Duarte explain us ) made by Ana Marina, wery tasty and good looking, a very good red wine (from their farm, made in house). The fado show was amazing, entertaining and get all of us to sing along (they told us a short history of fado music at begining). Very friendly host, kisses and hugs on our way out. Sr. Duarte also order us a taxi, and wait with us until all guests get one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Owner at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
dear friends

Thank you for having enjoyed being with us, and with your sympathy, having helped the most perfect night of joy and happiness at Sr. Fado.
wait for you whenever you return to Portugal

a big hug of friendship and to always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    77
    23
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had lovely authentic Fado food and entertainment. The couple who own the restaurant do the cooking then play music and do the singing. It is small and intimate.

There was a CD available to purchase.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Owner at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
dear friends

Thank you so much for your words, and we were very happy that you had a pleasant evening and fun, this is the aim is for people to leave satisfied

a big hug and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Fun night, entertaining, good food, nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

So, if you are looking for really good musical talent, this is not likely the place.

The entertainment is not the fado itself, but how the couple who run this place treat you (first they serve you food, then they play music)

They are funny, entertaining, and get the room to sing along. Everyone is made to feel welcome.

The food is very good. Get the speacial fish stew with rice (Cataplana) and any of the desserts are amazing.

Nice people, we got hugs and kisses on our way out.

Be prepared to get there at 830 and leave aorund 12 midnight

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Proprietário at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you so much dear friends for being with us and for having positively evaluated Sr. Fado. It was a pleasure to welcome you

until forever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you want to experience very authentic fado then this is the place to be. The food is very good too and the host so so welcoming. We ordered the Cataplana which is a stew full of fresh fish and sea food. The portion was very generous and tasty.

The only downside (hence why not Excellent) is that it is quite expensive. The total was €126 for two, this said it seems to be the average one expects to pay in a Fado place but what bothered us most is that for a bottle of vin verde we were charged €26, two days later the same bottle from a 4* in the Douro we were charged €10 and the day after from a restaurant in Castelo De Vide €15. Other Fado places charge an extra fee for the show even if you dine there, so the end result would have been the same, but it is more a matter of principle!

In conclusion since it seems that the average price per person is €60 for a fado dinner, i still recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Owner at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
dear friends, thanks for the review and the positive words towards Mr Fado, but we have to clarify some things here described by you that are unjust, and while we're in a matter of principles ....
you paid € 126 for 2 people drank 2 bottles of wine, because at Sr. Fado, a couple, even eating the inputs and desserts, like you, and drinking normal, which is 1 bottle of wine, paid between € 45 and € 50 per person. Regarding the price of the wine, I'll tell you that in Castelo de Vide, if paid € 15 and not had any kind of animation ... then paid dearly! In this restaurant you ate, went away and others came to the same table, possibly the same table, working in a day, 5 or 6 times, imagine that all people drink 1 bottle of wine (6x15 € = 90 €) and not have all the expenses related to a home entertainment (paying artists, taxes and licenses etc.). In Mr. Fado, you had a table reserved for you ALL NIGHT, had a great meal and a great show of fado with various artists for almost two hours. This table reserved for you, since the day we made ​​the reservation, invoiced ONLY what you spent, all expenses with artists, licenses, taxes (VAT is only 23% to the state of the value)

for me, when I go on vacation, the amount I paid for something that is worth 5 ***** and that gave me pleasure, WORTH THE MONEY I paid. NO EXPENSIVE THINGS when are good and worth the money we give for them!
in compensation THERE THINGS so bad, that even being free, become expensive.

This is my vision ... a matter of principles;)

Thank you so much for your visit, it was a pleasure to have you with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“great fado experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nice people, great food, and wonderful music.
You must come if you never hear fado before and it's also your first time to be in Lisboa.
Must try the food the waiter recommends. very traditional, local and fresh.
The performers will explain the meaning or the history of the music and interact with the audience.
You will learn to love the food and the music there.
Highly recommended! Make sure you book a table in advance. It will be a great loss for you if you come in spontaneously and there is no table available.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Proprietário at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
dear friends

What a pleasure to receive so nice lady. Thank you for coming and have seen everything that we tried to move to people with heart

Thank you so much and even one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sr. Fado de Alfama also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Sr. Fado de Alfama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sr. Fado de Alfama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.