We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sr. Fado de Alfama

Sr. Fado de Alfama
Rua dos Remedios 176 | Alfama, Lisbon 1100, Portugal
+351 914 431 971
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 2,363 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $47 - $67
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: On off the least pretentious of Lisbon's Fado restaurants is also one of its finest. Hosts Duarte Santos and Ana Marina treat guests as family and the homely ambiance is warming and inviting. The homemade gastronomy is noted for its textures and flavours and generous portions, with the seafood cataplana (stew) a much-lauded feast. The menu is limited, but here it's all about the quality of the food. As for the entertainment, this is local fado at its most authentic -- the singers and musicians have known each other for years, and the performance is heartfelt and genuine. Quite often, diners are invited to join in which makes the evening truly memorable.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked very easily via e-mail. My mate being observant noticed it on the other side of the street from where I was looking. Owner was multilingual, friendly and considering he did all the front of house business kept on top of things remarkably well. Cheese Olives and a complimentary Port got the evening off to a good start. We did get the impression he would have preferred it if we had ordered the Cataplana but we loved what we ordered anyway. Cannot really add much to what others have said about the superb musicianship. as a group of six with no previous experience of Fado we really loved it. At the end of the night we were pleasantly surprised at the cost and felt we had got great value for money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Proprietário at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
dear friends
Thank you so much for joining us and for having enjoyed our traditions. When we recommend cataplana is by being faster to make, since we prefer quality to the quantity, we decided that the food at Sr.Fado would be made ​​all the time, but the kitchen and the stove are small, and when people of the same table asking different dishes is hard to get everyone eating at the same time, so we recommend cataplana so people do not wait too long for food and eat them all start at the same time. But I'm glad you liked our seafood rice and fish massada. We were so happy, but above all for your presence and sympathy
a hug and to always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    77
    23
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing, authentic, family-owned Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Truly a unique experience! This fado restaurant is NOT a tourist trap. I searched for a good fado restaurant and decided on this one because it seemed the most authentic. The couple cooks, serves and plays the music for this little restaurant. (As well as friends that come and join in with the music). The wine, cheese, olives, everything is home made or home grown which is great! The house wine is actually not bad either! The couple was very lovely and are there to help with your menu choices. It's a very small restaurant so make sure you make a reservation. It is also tucked away in a little street away from many attractions so give yourself some time to get there if you're walking! I highly recommend the traditional portuguese dish "Seafood for Two". It had a mix of seafoods in a oil sauce with a side of rice. It was excellent! The only negative side to this meal was that even though the olives, cheese, etc. were on the table when we got there, we got charged an additional $7 for olives, $5 for cheese and $5 for something else (bread maybe) and we didn't even eat much cheese. I wasn't that mad because I would have tipped on top of my meal anyway... but I would have rather just handed them the $20 for a tip rather than being surprised at the end with these charges.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Proprietário at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
dear friends

thank you for joining us and for evaluating Mr. Fado.
Remember the song I sang to you "Casa Portuguesa"? Song that speaks precisely the custom that the Portuguese have, when someone visits them at home, put bread, wine and cheese on the table, this was a custom that was transported for restaurants. The Portuguese when they go to the restaurant need not ask for these things, they come to the table without ordering, if we eat, we pay if we do not eat, we are charged nothing. We know that every nation has its customs and this may be strange to some people, but most people travel today, now seeking information about the customs and traditions of the countries they visit and are already informed that in Portugal there this tradition of bread, olives and cheese on the table as inputs and which are paid if people do not want, may have removed them and nothing is charged, obviously.
I hope to have them clarified and accept our big hug and always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do not miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hi Everyone. I took a group a college students to Sr. Fado in July 2011. Absolutely wonderful with the owners taking personal attention to you. The food was also very good.

The highlight had to be the Fado performance. The owner is a fine guitarist and brings in several of his friends to play with him. His family and friends are the singers. It is almost like you are at your own home--- it is that intimate. The performance goes until about 1am and times flies. I wish it did not end.

I highly recommend a visit to Sr. Fado be a part of any trip to Lisbon.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Proprietário at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
dear friend

was a great pleasure to have your student group with us, a young great sympathy and education, which left us delighted
maybe one day we turn to find
a hug and to always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you want to experience Fado at its finest come here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A charming little restaurant on an easy to find street from the metro (although map recommended) in the Alfama district. We were made to feel at home right away. The owner is warm-hearted and sincere. The food is very good. We were served right away with wine and warm bread. We ordered the seafood special for the evening and it was very tasty. The music was wonderful. Its a small place so they really take the time to talk to all the guests. I cant imagine going here and not having a great time. They even asked everyone who wanted a taxi and called for us at the end of the evening. I would recommend anyone who wants to experience Fado to come here; you can make a reservation straight from this site. Thank you Sr. Fado for such a delightful evening in Lisbon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Proprietário at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
dear friends

Thank you so much for caring, for your presence and for the time spent in evaluating Mr. Fado
we hope to have them back with us whenever they want
a big hug and always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A brilliant evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Last Friday we spent an amazing evening at Sr.Fado. Seeing other reviews we thought the evening might be long as they had said it finished around 1 in the morning! But no, the entire evening was wonderful and we did not see the time passing. The owners cooked their speciality a very tasty fish dish served in huge metal balls, the wine was cool the atmosphere was very warm and professional. The owners friends dropped by to add a song or two to their show. We would really recommend this to you, but book in advance, around 8.15 and you won't be disappointed the restaurant only seats about 24 people.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Owner at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
dear friends
thank you for your words but above all for your presence. We see them again. A hug and even a day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sr. Fado de Alfama also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Sr. Fado de Alfama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sr. Fado de Alfama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.