We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Laurentina o Rei do Bacalhau

Restaurante Laurentina o Rei do Bacalhau
Avenida Conde Valbom, 71 A, Lisbon 1050-067, Portugal
+351 21 796 0260
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 2,625 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Laurentina Restaurant, the King of the Cod, is distinguished for the quality of its plates and services since 1976, as much in true plates of Mozambican origin, as in the Portuguese traditional kitchen. In a friendly environment, it provides the pleasure of a true meal of Cod, confectioned of diverse forms, being certainly one of the best ones of Portugal.
woburn,ma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Holiday Inn recommended this restaurant . Charming decor, we were early but the tables filled up within an hour. Our waitress' name was Marta. Great smile, very personable and made a few good recommendations.

The food was good but we returned three more times basically because of Marta. I have been to restaurants in a dozen foreign countries as well as most of the major cities in the U.S.A. and I can honestly say I have never had a better or more helpful waitress . I hope the owner appreciates what a service his employee is providing for her customers

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    270
    65
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vineland, New Jersey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“excellent traditional Portuguese cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

It was a Sunday night, difficult to find a restaurant open, and this gem with traditional Portuguese cuisine welcomed us. The waitress was very pleasant and helpful. She spoke English well, and grasped that we wanted traditional dishes without stuffing ourselves. In fact, she suggested we split the entre-- a codfish and potato casserole dish with cream and spinach--which was so good, we ate every last morsel. But first we had two appetizers, which we hadn't yet tasted. A chorizo sausage, served flaming in a ceramic boat. . . very tasty. And samosas, less so because they were deep-fried and quite greasy, although the spices were good. And last, we wanted a typically Portuguese dessert, one we hadn't yet tried. So my husband got a warm rice pudding with cinnamon on top -- tasty, but no different than anywhere else. And I got some dessert called "Baba's Camel", very interesting -- not too sweet, a light texture, whipped up. But I would have improved it with some carmelized burnt sugar on top. . . At the end, the waitress brought my husband a grappa, and me some of the ubiquitous cherry liquor that is sold in every tourist shop in Portugal, which surprised me by not being too sweet. These two drinks were gratis, a nice touch.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best food in Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were recommended to this restaurant by our hotel and we could not have been happier. The food was fantastic. Our food server Marta was very knowledgeable about all of the items on the menu. She made our night so memorable. The fish is the best we have had. The decor is very nice in this family oriented restaurant. They also have Fado on thursday evenings.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspudden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Not that fantastic cod”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

The fadoshow was nice. And the service. And the food, except for the cod. After reading the reviews here I expected something special. It was not. Worth the money for food, drink and show. But not more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sao Jose Do Rio Preto, SP
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Iconic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you had asked to me, before my first visit to Laurentina, how a good restaurant would be like, I probably would made would a description from this restaurant that I didn’t had mate yet!
I don’t trust brand new restaurant, of course it can’t be a ruin. This one is perfect experience, vigor and charm.
Service friendly, efficient without teeter. Classic Portuguese food. Perfect.
An advice. To prepare a state of art piece of cod fish is a professional mater. Chose the animal, cut, unsalt, gentle coock in low temperature at the exatly point. Ask for the ‘Bacalhau Alto Cozido’. You can add more salt, pepper, olive oil or even piripiri, if you what.
The recipes like bacalhau em natas are made with little pieces of fish and lots of cream, you can do it at home, anything ‘au gratin’ is ease to do

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Laurentina o Rei do Bacalhau also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante Laurentina o Rei do Bacalhau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Laurentina o Rei do Bacalhau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.