We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get better than this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaluz

Andaluz
Rua de Santa Marta, 84-A | Fecha As 22 Horas, Lisbon 1050-200, Portugal
213548627
Improve this listing
Ranked #319 of 2,539 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Columbus, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Doesn't get better than this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Andaluz was one of the best dining experiences I can remember. At first, the staff seemed a little indifferent to me, an American tourist. But eventually they warmed up to me and tolerated my largely inadequate attempts to communicate in mangled Portuguese. The entire experience was wonderful - food, atmosphere, people. Maybe not 5 star dining, but this, to me, was as real and refreshing as a "foreign" dining experience can be.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    57
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Five of us had lunch, and the service was exceptional and food delicious. We had the pork cutlets, and my 12 year old had a beef cutlet, served with rice and fries. We then each had dessert, and coffee, and the total bill was 80 euro. The place is off the beaten path, so don't give up looking for it. It is worth the hunt.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food and service for value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The food was a little bit salty but overall is still acceptable.
For the value, it is serving in a very big portion. The fish is real fresh.
About the service, the staff here is extremely friendly and helpful.
This restaurant is highly recommended if u want to experience the dining in a local restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Hidden gem !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our hotel was at walking distance, so one evening we tried this recommended restaurant. We did not regret it! It proved a real good choice, real Portugese dishes, all made 'à la casa'.
For under fifty euro's we had a three course meal, wine and coffee. Great fish, squid and a spicy garlic oil. Real friendly staff, tried to explain us the details of the menu. We did not understand everything but it turned out great!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Just fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We visited twice on our short trip to Lisbon.

First visit was a Thursday lunchtime. There were 5 of us looking for a decent lunch to keep us going before heading off to Benfica!

Had the usual bread, olives and cheese when seated followed by Portuguese Soup which was a vegetable soup and absolutely delicious (€1.50!) followed by various main courses. I had Pork with potatoes and vegetables which was amazing. My friend had the Bacalão which was also divine. We all had dessert and coffee and our bill equated to €15 each. Oh and that also included 2l of wine!

We decided to go again on the Friday evening when it was just the pair of us - again bread, olives etc. I had salmon which was grilled with boiled potatoes and veg and my husband had piri piri pork steaks followed by dessert and coffee and accompanied with wine again and was €20 each. For the quality of the food and service this was amazing value and I will definitely be going to Andaluz when I return to Lisbon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andaluz also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaluz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.