We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine a Day

Wine a Day
Av Dr. Antonio Rodrigures Manito 53-7 f, Lisbon 1150-252, Portugal (Baixa)
+351912799561
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 329 Activities in Lisbon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great value trips to some of the best wineries in Portugal from Lisbon or The Algarve. Join us today to see, taste and experience some of the great wines and scenery of Portugal's wine regions.
1 review
“Very, very good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We did the tour to Setubal and Alentejo from Lisbon and thoroughly enjoyed it. Portuguese wines aren't that well know in the UK so it's good to have someone to guide you through the unique grape varieties. Chris can explain all the information to match your level of interest / knowledge. Overall It was a great day trip and interesting to talk to people with a real passion for wine.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Dream Wine Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was a fantastic wine tasting tour with the owner, Chris. We visited three vineyards.We started in his home town at Jose Maria da Fonseca Vinhos. This is the families original home with gorgeous gardens and a tasting room. This was my favorite because it historic. The lunch stop was at a marvelous tapas restaurant in Evora. All our guides were excellent providing interesting detail about wine making in general and cheerfully answering our many questions. I highly recommend Wine-a-Day tours for visitors to Lisbon.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wine tour planning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our group was traveling from Albufeira, PT to Evora, PT through the Alentejo wine region. Chris was able to create a tour agenda so that we visited three unique wineries during our drive. Since we were moving from one city to another with our own car, it did not make sense to have a guide but Chris put together the tour and made the reservations for us. He also gave us great directions to each winery (not always easy)--all for 15 Euros. Fantastic!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montvale, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Tour for Wine Lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Chris, of Wine A Day tours planned a wonderful tour for us. it was just my husband and I so it was like having a private tour of some great wineries. We were visiting the wineries during harvest time -it was interesting to see how the grapes are harvested and how the wine is produced. Chris brought us to a wonderful restaurant for lunch -- it was actually an old winery that has been transformed into a wonderful restaurant. We experienced two wonderful Portuguese specialties - black pig and a wonderful roasted duck.

Chris is a wonderful tour guide and very knowledgeable about wines and about numerous wineries in Portugal. Don't hesitate when it comes to booking this tour! It is a wonderful experience and it will be a highlight of your vacation.

Thanks again Chris for a great day!

Glenna and Bill

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineaDay, Owner at Wine a Day, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks for your kind words, I had a great day too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“THE winery tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We joined Chris at Wine a Day for a tour to the Jose Maria da Fonseca winery in Setubal, the Cartuxa winery in Evora and, finally, the Quinta da Esperanca winery in Alentejo. We were very impressed, some friends of ours had attended wine tours in other countries, and we chose Wine a Day based on the good reviews here on Tripadvisor. We enjoyed every minute and got some good recommendations by Chris where it paid off to buy some wine to bring along and where it was not that worthwhile. We're both still wine amateurs but we learned a lot during the journey. Needless to say, we'd love to join Chris for another tour if we visit Lisbon again!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine a Day also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Wine a Day? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine a Day, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.