We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Great Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Vila Nova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residencial Vila Nova to your Saves list
Residencial Vila Nova
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Avenida Duque De Loule No 111 - 3o, Lisbon 1050-089, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 160 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Midlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good location, Great Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in a gorgeous room, nice modern design. Metro station at the end of the street (1min Walk), 20 min walk to the centre but plenty of amenities around. There's a bar next door that sells bottles of Sagres (Local beer) for €1 and has little snacks, very cheap. Free Wifi and lots of TV channels. En suite Jacuzzi and massive bathroom that was amazing. Bed was huge and comfy with some really soft blankets. Huge room with french doors that opened out onto street view. Nice star on ceiling.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe room and it really made the trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    86
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
92
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I decided to go here, based on reviews from this site. When we came here, our first poor impression left the receptions. She wasn't so welcome, it was like she regretted the moment we stepped in through that door.
When we went to our room, it was the same as it was from the pictures, but sooooo small. Wide lens does the magic, so a room small like this one looks huge. :) The shower was a battle for my husband, because (guess) small. There were a bit fungus on the wall plates, but that was the only sanitary flaw. The cleaning lady was great! Our bed was always ready, clean towels, clean room. No complaints for her.
But the reception, oh the reception! So, we came to Lisbon for the first time. We got all the information, and the maps, but of course you will expect from the reception to give you some advices. They did try, but all of they guidelines were wrong. They really don't know their city as much as they should (they do work on a reception). The only person who knew something, was the moody girl, but with her dying voice she was killing our mood so we gave up of asking her any thing when she worked.
One more thing why we decided to stay here was the wireless. Well, a lot of them said that it was excellent. Well, our wasn't!
We were at the end of a hall and there was no signal. Only two rooms that are close to the reception had the best signal, the rest was terrible or no signal at all. I had to walk to the reception to get the connection. So, wireless is terrible!

The apartment is close to all stations, and that is great. Downstairs you have the best pastry shop. We went there every morning for breakfast.

Lisbon is a great city, and you will enjoy it regarding the small bumps on the way as we had.

Room Tip: Only rooms close to the reception are larger, and have wireless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in a ‘Superior Room’ with a modern and clean feel. It featured a double bed, large mirror, small desk, flat-screen television, (expensive) mini-bar, free kettle with coffee and tea, closet, safe, air-conditioning, Wi-Fi, and a single comfy chair. The bathroom was especially nice: apart from the obvious toilet and sink there was a great shower cubicle with several luxurious options, like a massage shower. Everything looked new, fresh and well-decorated. Our room also had a balcony, but this was tiny, had no chairs, and offered a view on a garbage disposal in a back-alley. The room could be made really dark, courtesy of some heavy shutters in front of the balcony doors.

Staff at the reception desk spoke very good English and was available to help us to, for example, order a pizza or store our suitcases on the day we left. Though the cleaning staff did not speak English they too were friendly and helpful.

Since the hotel is housed on two floors of an apartment building it doesn’t have any facilities. There also isn’t a breakfast room. However, we can strongly recommend breakfast in the café/bakery on the ground floor of the same building: it’s good and affordable. The only downside is that they are closed on Sunday and there isn’t much else in the direct vicinity. However, since the hotel is close to the Marquês de Pombal metro station and Lisbon isn’t particularly large, you can be wherever else you want to have breakfast in no-time.

We did have an episode with the air-conditioning: we couldn’t get it to work on the first night. Thinking we’d just missed something, we asked the receptionist about it. He sent a cleaning lady to help, who figured out that the unit was broken. She was soon joined by another cleaning lady, and together they tried (at length) to push random buttons. They were then joined by someone apparently in charge who repeated the same exercises and spent a lot of time on the phone shouting at people. Although this was great service, and they really seemed to care, all of this was rather unnerving given that none of the three spoke any English, so we didn’t have a clue as to what was going on. After what felt like a long time the receptionist came up to tell us (in English) that they had no idea what was wrong and couldn’t reach the repairman (it was Saturday), and that they also didn’t have any spare rooms. Since they would continue trying, we went to do some sight-seeing. When we came back the air-conditioning was working! We have never been happier, especially not since temperatures rose to 38-40°C in the next days!

We did uncover a slight disadvantage in the following nights: it was very hard to sleep without the air-conditioning on because of the heat. However, it was impossible to sleep with the air-conditioning on because this resulted in (what felt like) a blizzard blowing straight into your face. Still, at least we were able to cool the room down enough to get to sleep, and we would not recommend Lisbon in summer without air-conditioning!

To summarize the good: our room and bathroom were modern and clean, staff was friendly and helpful, the hotel location is good, and there is air-conditioning. The slightly less good: the balcony was useless, the air-conditioning would have been better placed elsewhere than straight above the bed, there are no facilities, and you have to go out for breakfast. Still, we can recommend this hotel as being quite good for the money, and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

nice and comfy rooms, really. Clean, nicely furnished, well located. A very good deal, and excellent value for money. Shower is very nice, spacey and with 4 different water spray positions... 1 drawback to notice? towels are not so soft but, well, that's ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent a night in this hotel, after traveling around and before our early morning flight. Glad that we did not had to stay longer. Although staff was very polite and helpful and rooms were clean, it could not help feeling of place being run-down. I am sure that for the same cost we could stay elsewhere and have a better experience. We had a room at the end of corridor on the third floor - wireless internet was not working and I had to go to reception with my laptop if I wanted to go online. Phone was not working either, which we discovered when we did not receive wake-up call at 4:30 am. Fortunately, this call was just reassurance if I do not hear alarm on my mobile 10 min earlier. Rooms were very small; there were no enough space to keep both of our bags on the floor and walk from the door to the bed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We book this hotel for 10 friends in different rooms for 4 nights. Some stayed on the standard one and we stayed on superior class (bigger room and better toilet).
The staff was very helpful and friendly and even pronouncing my wife's polish name correctly! :)
the rooms were clean, well noise isolated from the street and very central.
The price is very good considering the conditions they offer.
I will not search for another one, next time i need a room of this range of price.

Room Tip: if can afford the VIP, you won't regret!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxos, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed there for 4 days, close to the metro station, from where you can really easy reach whole city, close to bus tours, and buses to airport, good and helpful staff, nice looking rooms!! If I will go to Lisbon again for sure I will book my hotel again with them, good value for the money for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residencial Vila Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Vila Nova

Address: Avenida Duque De Loule No 111 - 3o, Lisbon 1050-089, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Vila Nova 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Residencial Vila Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Vila Nova Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Vila Nova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.