We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, shady at night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lisbon City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lisbon City Hotel to your Saves list
Lisbon City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Almirante Reis 49, Lisbon 1150-010, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good location, shady at night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Tried to walk around alone at night and I don't know if I'm just a bit of a worry wart but it didn't feel safe in certain areas.

In the day time though it felt completely safe. Not much restaurants near the hotel so you'll really have to walk a little far.

Rooms are clean, staff is friendly. I'm actually quite surprised on how cheap a room that big is. Definitely worth staying in for short trips.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    150
    54
    2
    4
See reviews for
32
136
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dendermonde, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and nice, although a bit frigid. The wifi worked well.
The hotel is on a busy road, but quiet. It's close to the center and lots of touristic places to visit.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well priced hotel in a reasonably central Lisbon location.

Close to the Metro and within walking distance of the city centre.

Clean well presented basic rooms, we took the continental breakfast option that was good value.

Room Tip: get a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisbonCityHotel, Gerente de relações com clientes at Lisbon City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Estimado Hóspede,

Valorizamos a sua preferência pelo Lisbon City Hotel e os seus valiosos comentários.

Agradecemos o seu comentário à localização, staff e conforto do quarto durante a sua visita.

Esperamos recebê-lo no nosso Hotel, em breve, na sua próxima visita.

Lisbon City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a good hotel for a short city break.
The room was very small, but we had a balcony (on the side of the hotel) which made it seem a bit more spacious.
Mattresses are firm but comfortable.
Breakfast was not included in our booking so we went across the road instead where you can find several cafeteria's that serve lovely pastries and drinks.
The metro is 2 minutes away and you can walk into city center within 10 minutes.
Tram 28 has a stop just a few minutes up the road.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisbonCityHotel, Gerente de relações com clientes at Lisbon City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Lisbon City Hotel and for your valuable comments.

We appreciate your compliment on the location, staff, cleanliness, guestroom comfort during your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future.

Lisbon City Hotel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a marvelous stay at The Lisbon City Hotel. The room was comfortable and clean, the breakfast was great and the staff friendly and helpful.
Near metro and tram stops if required although it's not far to walk to the city centre
We used local restaurants every night and had wonderful food and wine.
We will definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisbonCityHotel, Gerente de relações com clientes at Lisbon City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Lisbon City Hotel and for your valuable comments.

We appreciate your compliment on the location, staff, cleanliness, guestroom comfort during your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future.

Lisbon City Hotel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We had a most enjoyable stay at The Lisbon City Hotel. Our room was comfortable and clean with the added bonus of a small balcony. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was satisfying.
The position is just outside the city centre and there are some great restaurants nearby as well as good transport links to all parts of Lisbon.
Many thanks for a brilliant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

My recent stay at the Lisbon City Hotel was my fourth in 12 months, which I think speaks for itself! I've stayed in single, double and triple rooms over this time and can honestly say each room has been fantastic value for money. The rooms aren't overly fancy but are impeccably clean and smart which still exceeds what you'd expect from the price. The hotel is situated in a quieter area which is a 1-2 minute walk from two metro stops, each taking 5 minutes to reach the centre of Lisbon. Alternatively if you follow the road down for around 10 mins you will also reach the centre.

I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lisbon City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon City Hotel

Address: Av. Almirante Reis 49, Lisbon 1150-010, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lisbon City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lisbon City Hotel, the newest urban design hotel in Lisbon within easy walking distance of Lisbon downtown and just five minutes from Lisbon International Airport. The sophisticated modern architecture and welcoming atmosphere boast excellent accommodation offering individually-controlled air-conditioning, sound-proofed windows, cable TV, safe-deposit box, direct-dial telephone, work desk, Internet access and data port. Facilities and services include conference and meeting rooms, rent-a-car, laundry, well equipped business center, the exquisite City Lounge Bar, baby-sitting, complementary Buffet breakfast, sightseeing excursions and a metro station right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Lisbon City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisbon City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.