We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inferno of noise at night” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lisbon Serviced Apartments - Bairro Alto

Save Saved
You added Lisbon Serviced Apartments - Bairro Alto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lisbon Serviced Apartments - Bairro Alto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa dos Fieis de Deus, 34, Lisbon 1200-141, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Inferno of noise at night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This apt. looks great. It is located in a small street that looks pretty quiet. We stayed in apt. 4A, although the picture from GlobalCityBreak showed another apt. (4B). The apt. is on the 4.th floor, it was very spacious and modern. It did not have two double beds as advertised, only one and a sleping couch. It did not have a dish washer as advertised, but a washing machine instead. But these errors were not not a problem for us.

So far so good. The problem started at night, 11 pm. when the small bar right beneath the apt. began to attract huge crowds of really noisy people who gathered in the street. They partied all night long 6 out of the 7 nights we stayed there. We had all the windows closed and the airconditioners on to reduce the noise, but it did not help much. It felt like trying sleeping on top of the Wembley stadium during the cup final. We bought silicone earplugs but still did not sleep well, especially our 12-year old son was bothered by the party noise.

Don´t go here if you are not part of the partying crowd. Dont bring children here.

Before deciding on this apt. Global City Break assured me that noise would not be a problem even though it was in Bairro Alto (I told them in advance we brought a 12 year old kid).

When I complained about the noise after the first night Global City Break offered to find us another apt. We declined this offer, wish we had not. We hoped it would get better.

No refund/no discount offered from Global City Break when I complained after the vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luissousa, Gerente at Lisbon Serviced Apartments - Bairro Alto, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We're very sorry with this situation, but your stay was during "Summer Party", the party night in Lisbon.
This building is located in a traditional neighborhood. Few nights during the year the noise extends , but all of our apartments have soundproof windows.
If the customer close the windows and use the AC, the problem is not relevant, except for extremely sensitive people.
We have other properties in quite areas, we suggest you to contact us before book in next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
18
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in mid June and it was a fantastic overall experience. I am a 32 year old single guy, and these apartments are right in the middle of all the nightlife, which was perfect for me. It does get noisy on Friday and Saturday nights, but that did not bother me since I was out late anyway. If you have a problem with sleeping with all the noise then this would be the only thing to consider. Otherwise, all else was great. Free internet (with a strong signal) and very clean with modern fixtures and appliances. There is no check in desk, but rather a remote cyber check in desk via camera and speaker at the door when you arrive. The cyber check in desk can also arrange a taxi for you to the airport. The only downside to this is that there is no concierge to give you a map of the area, recommendations of places to eat, or to book sightseeing tours for you. In retrospect, maybe the cyber check in guy could've helped, but I didn't check with him. I had researched everything on my own anyway, so that was not a problem. The apartment also had a full kitchen, so you could bring leftovers home and reheat if needed, as well as a dishwasher and clothes washer. Bathroom very clean and modern as well. Great value and highly recommended for the modern traveler who can deal with a non-traditional type of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised at how clean and well-appointed this apartment was. The decor is pretty modern and the place was really spacious. It really was like a regular (or even larger than average) apartment in Manhattan. I paid online and received codes for the main entrance and the apartment door.

I was a bit nervous because there is no staff on the premises. With the exception of the Internet connection, which was erratic and weak, at best, everything went smoothly for me. However, I can see how any problem could turn into a big headache -- the place has no telephone line, so contacting anyone would be an ordeal (especially with a whimsical Internet connection).

Noise is also a problem from all the partying going around in the area. Young people sit around the entrance drinking and smoking, and the street is full of bottles, plastic cups and garbage of all sorts. The party goes well into the morning hours on weekends...

I had a pretty good experience overall, but I would be hesitant to recommend these great apartments without disclosing all of the above.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redbourn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I booked with trepidation. I am 50 something (old?) and wanted to bring my wife to tour Lisbon and heard about the noisy bars across the road.
I cannot praise the appartment enough: Clean, modern, safe, large room, bright, with three massive windows, internet access, great modern bathroom and a perfect position to enjoy the real feel of Lisbon.
Yes you could hear noise, but it was NOT a problem - there is air conditioning in the room, should you want it, but we kept the windows, and electric blinds closed and did nor need it. We slept well.
We stayed for three nights - the room was cleaned and beds made up after the first noght, but not on the Sunday - but that didn't matter.
Overall a great trip and far more enjoyable top go out and choose a nice cafe for a coffee and pastry than be stuck in the hotel restaurant. I'd use them again!

Room Tip: Go for room 2B on the scond floor rather than the groud floor. You are not then opposite the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilar de Perdizes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Bairro Alto is the best location to stay if you want to feel the city and know Portugal.
Nice restaurants, bars, shops.
These Apartments are design Apartments, reasonable site, clean and good service.
I

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

First point -- Bairro Alto is the main bar/nightlife neighborhood of Lisbon. It's a pedestrian neighborhood -- folks party into the street late into the night, and they make a lot of noise, and create quite a mess (all cleaned up by 10 the following morning). If have children or you are not into coming home to partiers on your doorstep and drunken 3 a.m. serenades, choose another location (I think Lisbon Serviced Apts have 3 other buildings in quieter parts of Lisbon).

But if you DO want to stay in Lisbon's equivalent of the French Quarter of New Orleans for a few nights, you've come to the right place. Large, spacious apartments can comfortably sleep up to 4, and their kitchenettes and washing machines mean you can save a bit of money on restaurants and laundry. Satellite t.v., free wifi...and at far lower cost than staying even in a 3 star hotel. So if you are young or young at heart, consider staying here!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the top floor -- there will be slightly less noise, and some of the loft apartments ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on january 2012. I booked through Expedia.com. In the site it says "Complimentary parking is available on site." This is false. There is no parking. The hotel is an old building without even one single parking place or garage. Actually, even the access to the street of this neighborhood is restricted and during weekends only cabs and residents are allowed to drive in the streets. So, this hotel has no parking, let alone complimentary. What is sad is that, after two months of my complains, the site of the hotel and the information at Expedia.com, still informs that there is "Complimentary parking is available on site." Absurd.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lisbon Serviced Apartments - Bairro Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Serviced Apartments - Bairro Alto

Address: Travessa dos Fieis de Deus, 34, Lisbon 1200-141, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisbon Serviced Apartments - Bairro Alto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartments are in a brand new building, centrally located in one of the oldest parts of Lisbon, where you can feel the pulse of city life. Close to the best restaurants, bars, craft shops and commerce these apartments combine the modern, comfortable accommodation of a luxuriously decorated apartment with the service of a hotel. FREEDOM: the sensation of being at home while enjoying freedom in the heart of Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lisbon Serviced Apartments - Bairro Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisbon Serviced Apartments - Bairro Alto Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisbon Serviced Apartments - Bairro Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.