We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ajuda” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ajuda National Palace

Ajuda National Palace
Largo da Ajuda, Lisbon 1349-021, Portugal
351 213 637 095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 184 Attractions in Lisbon
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is a collection of decorative arts including furniture, tapestries and statues in an unfinished palace.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ajuda”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Ajuda Palace needs ajuda (help). Portugal's heritage falling to pieces. A disgrace of a building that needs a hefty cash injection.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    55
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous palace in striking area of Lisbon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Palace was built after the 1755 earthquake that destroyed Lisbon. Traditionally the royal family had lived in the Castelo of St. George then in the Palacio Ribeira by the Tagus. When the earthquake destroyed most of the town, the king moved his family to the hilltop of Ajuda into royal pavilions. The palace was built later on the same site. It is beautiful and full of amazing art, chandeliers, sconces, furniture, Persian carpets.. Just lovely. It often has temporary exhibits such as the one now ending, featuring the amazing art of Joana Vasconcelos. We loved our afternoon there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Prada meets the Palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We, or I chose to walk to the Palace, just to let you know the first 300 metres are ok, then it is uphill from there. There were no queues, bonus. Not sure if I am a fan of modern art meets grandeur, but the display by Joana Vasconcelos could only be described as an added treat. Some of her work, to me, didn't work, some blended in beautifully, but the two highlights, the stilettoes, made of cooking pans sitting under a beautiful chandelier, & the 20 ft chandelier, that is not politically correct titled Noiva/bride, made of 25,000 tampons. There is no way you would know if it wasn't written. If you have time in Belem, go.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“If JOANA VASCONCELOS's work is on view - go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Modern artist Joana V has interspersed small to gigantic pieces of modern art amongst the rooms and furnishings of the Portuguese royal family in the 19th century. An amazing juxtaposition of the new with the old - the whimsical with the stuffy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I visited it through Joana Vasconcelos' work and the palace is pretty amazing. As a portuguese, I think the city must give importance to this national treasure. The palace construction was never finished and the back of it gives a bad image of this beauty.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ajuda National Palace also viewed

 

Been to Ajuda National Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ajuda National Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.