We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet comfort in Lisbon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inspira Santa Marta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Inspira Santa Marta Hotel to your Saves list
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R. de Santa Marta n. 48, Lisbon 1150-297, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE BREAKFAST OFFER
Ranked #24 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Quiet comfort in Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel is just off Avenida da Liberdade which is very convenient for walk to central Lisbon, sightseeing buses, airport bus etc. Hotel is modern and comfortable, free internet (we were asked if we had any more than 6 devices!!!). Tea and coffee making facilities as well as complementary bottle of water which you don't always find on the continent. Quite a few good neighbourhood restaurants within a couple of hundred yards.
Clean, comfortable and well designed room over a tiny side street - was very quiet. Overall a very good value stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear "LondonKay..."
We are som glad you had a very good value stay!
We look forward to welcome you back on some future occasion.
Thank you for your taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback - ost appreciated.
Nick Roucos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    401
    54
    9
    3
See reviews for
84
628
39
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Inspira Santa Marta is a very good hotel. Stayed there for three nights in November. The staff is super accommodating and helpful. Rooms feature a super modern design. Hotel is very clean. Nicely located on a quiet street just off Avenida da Liberdade, which is lined with high end boutiques and stores. Breakfast is a very good value. I didn't use the spa but it's nice to have the free access. Another perk is the free bottled water and coffee in room. Internet and cable had some problems while there but nothing major.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear "Gary H"
Your review is very helpful and very complimentary
Many thanks.
Nick Roucos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A very good hotel in the adorable Lisbon. Very well located (Praça Marques de Pombal at 100 m and the beautiful Avenida da Liberdade just one block away), with nice room, good Internet access, breakfast and helpful staff who answered several questions before a Congress I atended at the hotel. I recommend this hotel, as I am frequently travelling to Portugal, I will prioritize it for my bookings from now on.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa_Marta_Hotel, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear "Gljamil",
Many thanks for the nice review from a congress attendee.perspective.
We hope to welcome you again soon when you're in Lisbon again.
Best regards,
Sandra Mencucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Once again the Trip Advisor reviewers gave us great information. Stayed here for three nights in October. Enjoyed our free access to the spa with a steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Very appreciated after a long day travelling. Only a couple of negatives to mention, but nothing that would stop me from staying here again, or recommending it to someone else. The showers are not private and are right beside the bed. I'm not sure if all the rooms are like this, but depending on your travelling companion, it's something you'd want to know ahead of time. Also, the rooms are very dimly lit. I'm sure it has to do with energy efficiency, but a brighter light above the desk is needed. Very friendly, helpful staff at the front desk. Enjoyed our dinner at "Open" which is off the front lobby. Overall very happy with our decision to stay here.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms overlooking the street. Ours was at the side of the hotel, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa_Marta_Hotel, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear "Kath0812",
Many thanks for your positive and constructive review.
We are currently reviewing the lighting intensity inside the rooms to offer more light, in respect with our low energy commitment. Our bathroom all have the same layout (except in the suites) but some have an opaque glass division to give more privacy to the guests.
All in all, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks for the good recommendation.
Best regards,
Sandra Mencucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent 4 nights here and it made a perfect base for visiting Lisbon. The hotel is very clean, the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfasts very good with plenty of choice. It is about a 10 minute walk from the centre but there are plenty of shops and restaurants very close to it. We tried the sauna and jacuzzi, very relaxing after a day walking around Lisbon. My only complaint is that being English I thought that there were not enough ordinary teabags and milks in the room! Everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa_Marta_Hotel, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear "SurreyMasha",
Thanks for dedicating time to share your recent experience with Inspira Santa Marta Hotel. We're glad you valued our services and staff, such comments encourage us to keep up the good work !
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Sandra Mencucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was staying in this hotel during my holiday trip in Lisbon from 14-16 October 2013 and chose this hotel based on so many good review I read from the Tripadvisor. Definitely I will also give the same rating for Insipira Santa Marta. To begin with the hotel is very well located, only a short walk from Avenida Liberdade as well as the Metro station. If you wish to walk down to the Placa de Commercio and the area nearby, it is still a manageable 20 minutes walk. The design is very stylish and modern, I love the way they put all the colors and wooden design at the lobby. We were staying at a Superior room, the same modern design is also displayed and the room is very spacious with a unique layout design. Bed is comfortable, enough to send me for a much needed good sleep after such a long flight from Asia. Wifi connection was very strong and the most important it is free with our package. Our package also comes with breakfast and we found the choice is adequate, not a typical big breakfast in a major chain hotels but ample to give you choices to select from. Staffs are all friendly and helpful, they are ready to provide you with all suggestions needed including a good selection of Fado dinner and performance which we found very excellent. Excellent choice for holiday or business traveller as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear "DAZJakart..."
What can we say but thank you for the wonderful feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel!
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash vale
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on a BA break and was very pleased to have booked this hotel.
Excellent location with very pleasant and helpful staff. Room was very clean and breakfasts were excellent.Ok the bathroom arrangements are unusual if not odd.I don't see the point of having an opening between the room area and the bathroom;also the glass divide between the two could be disconcerting if you prefer to shower in private.
I really do think the staff we came into contact with at the front desk,in the breakfast area and chambermaids are first class so congratulations to whoever both recruits and trains them.
Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear "nigel1949"
Thank you for your comments. The see through glass in the bathroom adds to the decor in the room but we understand the privacy issue and we have some rooms where the glass is opaque.
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inspira Santa Marta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inspira Santa Marta Hotel

Address: R. de Santa Marta n. 48, Lisbon 1150-297, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inspira Santa Marta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel is a medium-sized, trendy 4 star hotel offering an urban retreat to those visiting Lisbon for business or pleasure. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, in Rua de Santa Marta, just off Avenida da Liberdade. With a contemporary decor, Santa Marta Hotel offers 89 rooms of different categories. Here lighting, color, sound, energy and materials have been carefully designed and put together according to the principles of Feng Shui. The rooms are equipped with integrated, cutting-edge technology allowing guests the freedom to remain in touch with business colleagues, family and friends and to access local information - all at the touch of a button or two. Whether visiting Lisbon on business or leisure, our aim is to provide our guests with a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Inspira Santa Marta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.