We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inspira Santa Marta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Inspira Santa Marta Hotel to your Saves list
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R. de Santa Marta n. 48, Lisbon 1150-297, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST OFFER
Ranked #25 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Malmö
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Big rooms and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is located 10-15 min walk to the city centre. You can also take the bus if you get tired of walking. The breakfast is good and the beds are comfortable. It's a very quiet hotel. You don't hear other people when you're inside your room.
We tried the jacuzzi one night and the sauna, the other two nights there were a lot of people already so not room for us two.
The gym consist of 4 machines so not a lot.
You should be prepare that there is transparent glass between the shower and the bedroom (they have some with non-transparent glass). The light is already programmed in the room so you push buttons who turns on different lamps. The negative with this is that if you f´go to the toilet during night when it's dark you
1. need to fins the button to light the lamps
2. you will most likely wake up the other person in the room
It takes about 15 min to take the taxi from the airport to the hotel and cost you about 15-20 euro.
The staff at the reception were very helpful and service minded.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear "sandgren"
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and have taken on board your comments about the lighting scenarios. The "night" scenario on the lighting panel should only switch on low floor lighting to allow you to go the bathroom without waking up the other person.
Thank you once more
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    395
    54
    9
    3
See reviews for
82
621
39
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Peckham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The facilities at the Inspira Santa Marta are very good. The hotel was busy in numbers but you wouldn't have noticed it with the time and level of service given in all areas of the hotel. Everyone spoke very good english at the hotel so we didn't have any problems in getting help, directions or any service. The rooms were well designed and equipped. The glass shower enclosure in the bedroom had a colour tinted screen so I'm guessing the reservations previously noted by some reviewers had been taken into account and acted upon. It isn't possible to see the person in the shower from the bed (without a lot of effort!). The restaurant (called Open) served excellent food. The staff were very attentive and offered help with wine choices or clarity with the menu. We chose to have a cocktail on our last night there (look out for the buy one get one free offer!), and Ana from the restaurant came to the bar to make them for us. Her admission that she very rarely made "Cosmopolitans" didn't show, as they were the best ones we'd had for a long while. By chance she then served us in the restaurant for our meal, and suggested an excellent wine to go with our fish dishes. Not the most expensive one on the list by a long way, but the right choice of wine for sure. Superb service, so thanks Ana. The restaurant is also used for the breakfast area. Open style buffet breakfast, with a very good choice. Fruit, cereals, cold meats, breads, cooked items such as bacon, eggs, mushrooms etc. all available and replenished regularly. The Gym, Steam Room, Sauna, and Jacuzzi were all free for residents, so we tried them out one afternoon after a long walk round the city. All were in good working order, and the choice of machines in the gym were impressive. The massage treatment area was also very good. The treatment rooms were spotless, and the massages were very good too. Lisbon is quite hilly, and the hotel is just off the main Avenida De Liberdade. It's a bit of a slope from the there to the hotel, but once there, it is possible to walk south to the main squares without going back up the slope by using the small side roads.
Useful tip - It's very easy to use the Metro to get to the hotel from the airport. About 20 minute ride with one change of line. The metro is well signed and easy to get around with your bags.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear "Paul M"
Thank you for your gratifying feedback. We hope to welcome you back some day!
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Good reviews prompted our stay at the Inspira Santa Marta hotel and we can only concur with all that's been said. It is a lovely place to stay and a very convenient location.
I would really like to mention the helpfulness of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble which included booking our onward train journey to Porto.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear "BurleighBoy"
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in the hotel.
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredensborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

It's not a 5 star hotel, but compared to other 4 star hotels (I've visited) it's very good. Location is good, within walking distance to Down town or take the nearby metro, which will take you to just about anywhere you want to go in Lisbon. The hotel is obviously aimed primarily at couples, and I was there with my smal son, however the very competent and friendly staff makes a stay for anyone pleasant. The breakfast buffet is allright, and the restaurant is good ( I wouldn't say gourmet level, but the ambition is clearly high), with a few but well prepared dishes. The rooms are equipped with free Wifi, tea & coffe,so you can have a nice break at you room, and there's also a small jacuzzi and sauna, which both can fell crowded if you are more than 4 persons, but still a nice feature for another nice break, which sums it up.
This hotel is a nice break, and I would definitely consider going there with my wife (and as a Family) if we are going for a city break in Lisbon another time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear "VLauman"
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back with your family some time in the not too distant future.
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed 4 night in this great hotel. The staff were very friendly, our room was very comfortable and even when our shower blocked ,we were upgraded to a lovely suit with no fuss,which had everything we needed. The free wifi in the hotel was really useful and all mod cons in the rooms.
We had a meal in the open restaurant which was first class but the place lacked atmosphere which is a pity. Breakfast great, but not sure about the bar.
Would recommend and would definitely stay again if lucky enough to go back to lisbon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear "Brian S"
Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel. We appreciate the time and trouble taken!
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed three days in one of the suites. The space of the room is enormous, got separate living and sleeping areas. Two separate toilets, very nice shower and a bath in the sleeping area (not really practical).
Had dinner in the restaurant at the night of arrival. Kitchen is very good!

Room Tip: Take a suite if one's available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear "Wil P"
Thank your for the great feedback further to your recent stay. We are glad you enhoyed the Suite!
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cádiz-Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Best experience in Lissabon. Beautiful design and comfortable clean rooms with all that you need for a relaxed stay. Everybody was most helpful and very friendly. I would recommend it to everyona visiting Lissabon. We will certainly go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear "ZefiZan"
Thank you for your great feedback...we look forward to welcoming you back some day!
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inspira Santa Marta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inspira Santa Marta Hotel

Address: R. de Santa Marta n. 48, Lisbon 1150-297, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inspira Santa Marta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel is a medium-sized, trendy 4 star hotel offering an urban retreat to those visiting Lisbon for business or pleasure. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, in Rua de Santa Marta, just off Avenida da Liberdade. With a contemporary decor, Santa Marta Hotel offers 89 rooms of different categories. Here lighting, color, sound, energy and materials have been carefully designed and put together according to the principles of Feng Shui. The rooms are equipped with integrated, cutting-edge technology allowing guests the freedom to remain in touch with business colleagues, family and friends and to access local information - all at the touch of a button or two. Whether visiting Lisbon on business or leisure, our aim is to provide our guests with a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Inspira Santa Marta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.