We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 100 Maneiras

100 Maneiras
Rua Do Teixeira, 35 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200-459, Portugal
+351 910307575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 2,352 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $1 - $80
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Portuguese, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Givat Shmuel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great food, great wine. the staff is very helpful and friendly with
patience to explain about the food and wine. its a busy place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    199
    91
    46
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Landstuhl, Germany
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Fun Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A friend and I went here after our tour guide recommended this place for their fixed tasting menu. We were able to get reservations for the next night. They seat in shifts and there isn't a menu. What they make is what you get. However, they were able to alter a plate for my friend's food allergies.

Seating options for us were either 8:00 or 10:30 pm. We chose the earlier and it took us about 2.5 hours to finish the meal. It was somewhere from 8-10 courses of molecular gastronomy so the food was unique. One course was a shot and another was a large spoonful. However, some courses were bigger and we were stuffed by the time we left. The tasting menu was 45 Euro and then we got the Wine Pairing for about 35 Euro. There was another option for a more expensive wine pairing as well. We got a new wine with every other course and had quite a bit by the time we were finished :)

We had mostly great service. The Sommelier was very friendly. The wait staff wasn't as friendly or attentive, but they weren't rude, just busy.

Also, a meal like this would easily cost double in the US so we definitely considered it a good value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Trying to copy Avillez: hit or miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Over six diners in Lisbon, this is the only one that left us a bit wanting. It started with the location, a bit tricky to find, then with a slightly impractically set up floor plan. Then, when the first dishes arrive, you quickly come to realize they are trying very hard to copy Avillez / Bel Canto team (the fish on clothing line is really too close to the suspended chips of Avillez, among other examples).

While it hits the spot with the sea products, the meat products are less interesting (bland duck in particular) and desserts are good, nothing more (not the Wow factor of the mandarine at Bel Canto).

Service from the ladies was nice; however, the head sommelier is trying too hard to push his wine pairing offer and became uninterested in our table when we went for a single (white wine) bottle, with just a red wine glass for duck. The wine pairing did not seem to hit the spot according to the (mostly French) conversations we heard from the neighbouring tables.

While the services are officially at 20.30 and 22.30, try to book for 20.00, as the succession of plates takes quite some time, with the risk of being rushed when getting past 22.00.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourmander, Owner at 100 Maneiras, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, let us thank you for your visit and for rating our food 4/5, we’re very glad you enjoyed it. However, we must react to the accusation of copying that you state in your comment, since it’s absolutely against our philosophy and principles to copy other chefs’ work. For that reason, we’d like to introduce you to some facts that, we believe, will also change your mind. The “Cod clothesline” is our signature dish and it has been our opening course since it was created by our chef Ljubomir Stanisic in late 2009. Even the inox clothesline was developed internally. It’s 100% authored by 100 Maneiras, as well as all the dishes we serve. The photos published by our customers, right here at TripAdvisor since early 2010, are the best proof of it. On the other hand, Avillez suspended chips are far more recent than that – no one ever heard about it before the Belcanto opening, last year. Therefore, it’s very clear to us that, in case you think similarities are too obvious, 100 Maneiras isn’t the responsible for this.

We thank you once again for letting us clarify this and send you our best regards,

100 Maneiras.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
“Wonderful service, lovely food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Had read about the restaurant before going to Lisbon, and had asked my hotel to make reservations for me and my sister. When we arrived at the restaurant, they had no record of any reservation made in our name, but they were very friendly and said they had a table for situations like that (lucky us!).

It's a set menu (9 courses), and the possibility for ordering a wine pairing menu aswell. You can choose between the "normal" wine menu, and the premium menu. We went for the premium menu - and I don't regret that a bit! Its 25€ more per person, but the selection of wines were exquisite! It was supposed to be five glasses, but I think we ended up getting somewhere closer to eight..

Food was lovely; well presented and great taste! I wanted to lick the plate after almost every dish..

Attentive and professional staff, we felt very welcomed. The sommelier presented every wine and had great knowledge. We were both impressed!

When it comes to prize..it is a bit expensive if you compare it to the fact that you can have a three course meal with wine (for two) for 60-80€ in many other restaurants in Lisbon. But for 9 courses, aperitif, the premium wine menu, mineral water coffee and tea we ended up paying 240€ for the both of us. I'm from Norway, and by norwegian standards 240€ for all that is a bargain!

Would come back to Lisbon simply for he 100Maneiras experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience if you are up to a special evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The 100 maneiras is a fantastic experience. Very laid-back and relaxed, however absolutely fine cuisine with excellent ingredients, excellent wine accompaying the tasting menu and very creative way of serving the individual dishes! It was my second time at this restaurant, returning after a few years, however the very same quality and great servce and great value for money.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 100 Maneiras also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to 100 Maneiras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 100 Maneiras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.