We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we had in Portugal!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taberna Ideal - CLOSED

Taberna Ideal
Rua da Esperanca 112, Lisbon 1200-658, Portugal
351213962744
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Portuguese, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Soquel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Portugal!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We saw the recommendations here and in other places on the Internet so we decided to go. The restaurant is incredibly quaint with non-matching everything: tables, chairs, dishes etc. Makes it feel like someone's home. The staff is so kind and helpful that you feel like you are at their home. The lovely young man that helped us explained the entire menu to us since we do not speak Portuguese. Everything sounded so good that it was hard to decide but we had the pesto/tomato tiborno and the goat cheese/honey tiborno. They were both very delicious. But the next two dishes a wonderful mushroom and chestnut tart and the shrimp with breadcrumbs were even better. We shared the duck entree and the honey ice cream with red fruit for dessert. Both wonderful. He brought us complimentary small glasses of the cherry liqueur Ginja and some roasted chestnuts which were the perfect ending. We wanted to just stay and stay, but we could see there were people waiting so we pulled ourselves away. We were sad that we were leaving Lisbon the next morning since it meant we couldn't come back. Our meal was 51E which we felt was very reasonable for such a lovely, delicious meal. Reservations are a must. Staff speaks English so that is not a problem.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinSoquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic Portuguese Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It's very popular with the locals, so you will need to reserve as it's always full and impossible to get a table without a reservation. They have two seatings per evening, and the place isn't very big. Food is delicious and quite a variety, atmosphere is wonderful, and service is fantastic.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaskNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I'll keep this short.

Make a reservation and go. Amazing service, delicious food, great ambiance!

Our waiter explained every dish to us. We ended up getting 6 things for 4 people. The goat cheese bruschetta thing was amazing, the bacalhua salad was refreshing, the black pig was yummy and the duck was divine.

Helpful?
Thank Travelitis00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“truly an ideal taverna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stumbled on this restaurant while exploring Lisbon on a quiet Sunday, and were we ever fortunate! The waitress tempted us in and said that they have the best food in town, and after trying some of it, I very well believe it. The tibornas in particular were heavenly. The staff and owner were incredibly friendly and helpful and the place oozes an atmosphere that takes you back in time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobGurvits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Epic Evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We made a reservation, and they told us there were only two more tables.
At 20u30 we were the second couple, so they got plenty of time to explain the menu.
The food was perfect and the people extremely friendly. You could feel the pleasure they were having for working in that special place with a vibe i never experienced before.

With 2 shots of the medrongho of the house it is even more a heaven you can't imagine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobDeRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna Ideal also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing