We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we had in Portugal!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taberna Ideal

Taberna Ideal
Rua da Esperanca 112, Lisbon 1200-000, Portugal
213962744
Improve this listing
Ranked #257 of 2,571 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Soquel
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Portugal!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We saw the recommendations here and in other places on the Internet so we decided to go. The restaurant is incredibly quaint with non-matching everything: tables, chairs, dishes etc. Makes it feel like someone's home. The staff is so kind and helpful that you feel like you are at their home. The lovely young man that helped us explained the entire menu to us since we do not speak Portuguese. Everything sounded so good that it was hard to decide but we had the pesto/tomato tiborno and the goat cheese/honey tiborno. They were both very delicious. But the next two dishes a wonderful mushroom and chestnut tart and the shrimp with breadcrumbs were even better. We shared the duck entree and the honey ice cream with red fruit for dessert. Both wonderful. He brought us complimentary small glasses of the cherry liqueur Ginja and some roasted chestnuts which were the perfect ending. We wanted to just stay and stay, but we could see there were people waiting so we pulled ourselves away. We were sad that we were leaving Lisbon the next morning since it meant we couldn't come back. Our meal was 51E which we felt was very reasonable for such a lovely, delicious meal. Reservations are a must. Staff speaks English so that is not a problem.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    65
    16
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Portuguese Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It's very popular with the locals, so you will need to reserve as it's always full and impossible to get a table without a reservation. They have two seatings per evening, and the place isn't very big. Food is delicious and quite a variety, atmosphere is wonderful, and service is fantastic.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I'll keep this short.

Make a reservation and go. Amazing service, delicious food, great ambiance!

Our waiter explained every dish to us. We ended up getting 6 things for 4 people. The goat cheese bruschetta thing was amazing, the bacalhua salad was refreshing, the black pig was yummy and the duck was divine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“truly an ideal taverna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stumbled on this restaurant while exploring Lisbon on a quiet Sunday, and were we ever fortunate! The waitress tempted us in and said that they have the best food in town, and after trying some of it, I very well believe it. The tibornas in particular were heavenly. The staff and owner were incredibly friendly and helpful and the place oozes an atmosphere that takes you back in time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Epic Evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We made a reservation, and they told us there were only two more tables.
At 20u30 we were the second couple, so they got plenty of time to explain the menu.
The food was perfect and the people extremely friendly. You could feel the pleasure they were having for working in that special place with a vibe i never experienced before.

With 2 shots of the medrongho of the house it is even more a heaven you can't imagine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna Ideal also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Taberna Ideal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taberna Ideal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.