We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Portuguese Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taberna Ideal

Taberna Ideal
Rua da Esperanca 112, Lisbon 1200-658, Portugal
351213962744
Improve this listing
Ranked #309 of 3,006 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic Portuguese Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It's very popular with the locals, so you will need to reserve as it's always full and impossible to get a table without a reservation. They have two seatings per evening, and the place isn't very big. Food is delicious and quite a variety, atmosphere is wonderful, and service is fantastic.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaskNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I'll keep this short.

Make a reservation and go. Amazing service, delicious food, great ambiance!

Our waiter explained every dish to us. We ended up getting 6 things for 4 people. The goat cheese bruschetta thing was amazing, the bacalhua salad was refreshing, the black pig was yummy and the duck was divine.

Helpful?
Thank Travelitis00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“truly an ideal taverna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stumbled on this restaurant while exploring Lisbon on a quiet Sunday, and were we ever fortunate! The waitress tempted us in and said that they have the best food in town, and after trying some of it, I very well believe it. The tibornas in particular were heavenly. The staff and owner were incredibly friendly and helpful and the place oozes an atmosphere that takes you back in time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobGurvits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Epic Evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We made a reservation, and they told us there were only two more tables.
At 20u30 we were the second couple, so they got plenty of time to explain the menu.
The food was perfect and the people extremely friendly. You could feel the pleasure they were having for working in that special place with a vibe i never experienced before.

With 2 shots of the medrongho of the house it is even more a heaven you can't imagine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobDeRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly, cosy, tasty...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

This was an excellent little find with really friendly service, great traditional food and a nice buzzing atmosphere. Well worth booking in advance as it's popular and has just two sittings in the evening. It's a little off the beaten track, but it must be done. You won't regret it.

Helpful?
Thank Penguinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna Ideal also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Taberna Ideal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing