We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Portuguese Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taberna Ideal

Taberna Ideal
Rua da Esperanca 112-114, Lisbon 1200-658, Portugal
213962744
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 2,229 restaurants in Lisbon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Portuguese Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It's very popular with the locals, so you will need to reserve as it's always full and impossible to get a table without a reservation. They have two seatings per evening, and the place isn't very big. Food is delicious and quite a variety, atmosphere is wonderful, and service is fantastic.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    97
    47
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I'll keep this short.

Make a reservation and go. Amazing service, delicious food, great ambiance!

Our waiter explained every dish to us. We ended up getting 6 things for 4 people. The goat cheese bruschetta thing was amazing, the bacalhua salad was refreshing, the black pig was yummy and the duck was divine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“truly an ideal taverna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stumbled on this restaurant while exploring Lisbon on a quiet Sunday, and were we ever fortunate! The waitress tempted us in and said that they have the best food in town, and after trying some of it, I very well believe it. The tibornas in particular were heavenly. The staff and owner were incredibly friendly and helpful and the place oozes an atmosphere that takes you back in time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Epic Evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We made a reservation, and they told us there were only two more tables.
At 20u30 we were the second couple, so they got plenty of time to explain the menu.
The food was perfect and the people extremely friendly. You could feel the pleasure they were having for working in that special place with a vibe i never experienced before.

With 2 shots of the medrongho of the house it is even more a heaven you can't imagine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly, cosy, tasty...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

This was an excellent little find with really friendly service, great traditional food and a nice buzzing atmosphere. Well worth booking in advance as it's popular and has just two sittings in the evening. It's a little off the beaten track, but it must be done. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna Ideal also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 
Lisbon, Estremadura

Been to Taberna Ideal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taberna Ideal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.