We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Indian restaurant in lisbon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gandhi Palace

Gandhi Palace
Rua dos Douradores, loja 167 171 173, Lisbon 1100 -205, Portugal
966172952
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #394 of 2,360 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“My favorite Indian restaurant in lisbon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Lisbon has lots of Indian restaurants, but this is my personal favorite. the food is always cooked to perfection and it has a very friendly staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    41
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cheap, Quick, good tasting food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We ate the butter chicken and the chicken tikka masala. Both tasted very good and fresh. The restsurant isnt that cosy but the service is nice and proper. Better than most indian food ive eaten

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Ate here in the evening of Christmas day as most places were closed. Enjoyed a nice lamb jalfrezi
with rice and fresh naan bread. Would recommend trying this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice basic restaurant with a huge menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nothing special but good basic food with reasonable prices. Service was nice. They have indian menu and italian menu, so choosing can be quite a challence. There is so much to choose from. Not a bad thing, though.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I eat Indian when we are in Western Europe because she's a (fish-eating) vegetarian and I like to have some vegetables with my meat. We also like to have some flavour in our food. We went into this restaurant (the first time) because it was raining and the place was convenient; how fortunate! The service was excellent but the food was superb! I decided to have grilled prawn Jalfrezzi. I cannot describe the glorious flavours; spicy but not hot. My wife had fish Madras and felt it was the best meal we'd had in Lisbon. We returned the next night and she asked for a vegetable Jalfrezzi (which wasn't on the menu - they did it especially for her) which she felt was even better than the Madras. Though I was sorely tempted to have a repeat of the previous night's meal I decided to try the prawn Karahi which turned out to be as lovely as the Jalfrezzi. I cannot recommend this restaurant enough! The restaurant was busy and a good number of the customers appeared to be locals (always a good sign!).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gandhi Palace also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Gandhi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gandhi Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.