We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food. Excellent price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante 560

Restaurante 560
Rua das Gaveas, Lisbon, Portugal (Encarnação)
21 3458317
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,318 of 2,352 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Encarnação
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Excellent price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

A fine dining experience in the heart of Biarro Alto. Great deco, outstanding food and a price to keep the smile on your face when you leave. The staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. 2 courses and a bottle of wine for 2 €50.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    3
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not the place to eat the best meal. Not Even a good one”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Service: grumpy waiter. Not a word. No explanation about the menu. Rude manners. What reassures me is that his attitude was the same with the other costumers.

Food: so so. Mostly burnt flavour. I took the grilled pear salad and the cod with white beans and bread. The food flavour was killed by the burnt flavour. Even for the crumble...!

Despite the cosy setting of the restaurant, the rude waiter ( i kind of was afraid to ask him something for lord knows what his reaction could've been!!) and the food served, I am sure I won't come back and might not recommend it.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A modern gem in the heart of Barrio Alta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Modern portuguese cuisine in the heart of Barrio Alta. We were the first ones to arrive (at 8pm) but the restaurant quickly filled up. The waitstaff were most helpful (menu is in both English and Portuguese). Modern twists on local cuisine. Wine menu excellent. Had a duck dish with a madeira wine sauce. Crisp and moist. Chocolate dessert (sinful). Walk around afterward and the Barrio is a buzz with places to stop to hear local music.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“AVOID AT ALL COSTS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

It seems like this restaurant USED to be good but it literally ruined our last night in Lisbon.

We went on the weekend and it was our last day in lisbon so we definitely wanted a special meal to remember the city by...but being first timers in lisbon it's hard to know which restaurants are good or not. We walked past 560 and was taken by the unique modern design of the restaurant and on close inspection saw articles by ny times and time out lisbon so we thought this would be a sure bet.

We were greeted by a lethargic waiter who seemed almost annoyed that we were there because we were the first customers. We took a table and started with an octopus capaccio, it was OK except it was sprayed with black pepper which really covered the taste of the octopus. The wine recommended by the waiter was enjoyable and then the nightmare began.

I ordered pork cheeks with wine sauce and it arrived on my plate burnt. I had a bite and it was sour, i would initially think its the wine sauce but on second bite, it was definitely the meat and it was not eatable. the rissole thing which came with the pork cheeks was drenched in oil and had no taste and same with the scattered less than a table spoon sized pig skin "salad"...oily and no taste.

next my friend ordered cod fish with , she almost choked on the black eye pea "cous cous" because it was so dry and her fish was completely salty, fishy, over cooked, dry but drenched in oil. when she told the waiter that the fish was dry and not eatable, he suggested to bring some more olive oil...he then asked my friend if she's ever had "cod" fish before. What a joke, COD fish is one of the most basic fishes out there, a fillet o'fish from mcdonalds is made from cod fish...and to be honest would have tasted fresher and more tender to what we had.

As starving as we are (we haven't eaten for 6 hours) we left the plates untouched, paid our bill and left. There was no way we could have finished our dishes without feeling sick. The waiter made no apologies.

I don't usually write reviews but this experience was so bad I feel like i have to worn others who might be fooled by the decor of the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Great portugese modern kitchen very tasty and refined on classic basis. Fantastic architecture. Nice and discreet service.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante 560 also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Restaurante 560? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante 560, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.