We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern gem in the heart of Barrio Alta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante 560

Restaurante 560
Rua das Gaveas, Lisbon, Portugal (Encarnação)
21 3458317
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,321 of 2,363 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Encarnação
New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A modern gem in the heart of Barrio Alta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Modern portuguese cuisine in the heart of Barrio Alta. We were the first ones to arrive (at 8pm) but the restaurant quickly filled up. The waitstaff were most helpful (menu is in both English and Portuguese). Modern twists on local cuisine. Wine menu excellent. Had a duck dish with a madeira wine sauce. Crisp and moist. Chocolate dessert (sinful). Walk around afterward and the Barrio is a buzz with places to stop to hear local music.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    3
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“AVOID AT ALL COSTS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

It seems like this restaurant USED to be good but it literally ruined our last night in Lisbon.

We went on the weekend and it was our last day in lisbon so we definitely wanted a special meal to remember the city by...but being first timers in lisbon it's hard to know which restaurants are good or not. We walked past 560 and was taken by the unique modern design of the restaurant and on close inspection saw articles by ny times and time out lisbon so we thought this would be a sure bet.

We were greeted by a lethargic waiter who seemed almost annoyed that we were there because we were the first customers. We took a table and started with an octopus capaccio, it was OK except it was sprayed with black pepper which really covered the taste of the octopus. The wine recommended by the waiter was enjoyable and then the nightmare began.

I ordered pork cheeks with wine sauce and it arrived on my plate burnt. I had a bite and it was sour, i would initially think its the wine sauce but on second bite, it was definitely the meat and it was not eatable. the rissole thing which came with the pork cheeks was drenched in oil and had no taste and same with the scattered less than a table spoon sized pig skin "salad"...oily and no taste.

next my friend ordered cod fish with , she almost choked on the black eye pea "cous cous" because it was so dry and her fish was completely salty, fishy, over cooked, dry but drenched in oil. when she told the waiter that the fish was dry and not eatable, he suggested to bring some more olive oil...he then asked my friend if she's ever had "cod" fish before. What a joke, COD fish is one of the most basic fishes out there, a fillet o'fish from mcdonalds is made from cod fish...and to be honest would have tasted fresher and more tender to what we had.

As starving as we are (we haven't eaten for 6 hours) we left the plates untouched, paid our bill and left. There was no way we could have finished our dishes without feeling sick. The waiter made no apologies.

I don't usually write reviews but this experience was so bad I feel like i have to worn others who might be fooled by the decor of the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Great portugese modern kitchen very tasty and refined on classic basis. Fantastic architecture. Nice and discreet service.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“High expectations but was quite dissapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

After reading the reviews on 48hrs in Lisbon by the NY times, and the Guardian, I was quite hopeful that this would be a good place, unfortunately my partner and I were quite disappointed. When we arrived the waiter seemed rushed and harassed, even though we were the first customers, nonetheless after a while he began to relax and was quite attentive. The menu had the hallmarks of a fantastic dinner BUT the food was quite bland and you had the feeling that it wasn't cooked with care and attention, i ordered pigs cheeks, and although the meat was tender, it was lacking flavour, the fruit crumble was hot on the outside but frozen in the middle. It's a shame because I'm sure it once deserved it's rave reviews but now I'm not so sure, the waiter made a remark about difficulties retaining Portuguese chef's, do I'm not sure if that had something to do with it. All in all a mediocre place with mediocre food, but a friendly attentive waiter...once he'd settled in. Dinner for 2 3 courses plus a bottle of wine came to 60€

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Definitely recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

What a beatiful little restaurant this is! Awesome modern Portuguese cuisine. Decoration of the restaurant is also very interesting. They use black-tiles, that have got a pattern as well and then most walls are all covered in plywood. Service was great as well. Only negative it rained on our way there, but the restaurant is not to blame for that!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante 560 also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Restaurante 560? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante 560, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.