We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and tasty food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madragoa Cafe

Madragoa Cafe
R. da Esperanca 136 | 1200 Santos-o-Velho, Lisbon, Portugal
+351 21 397 8567
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 2,360 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $12 - $43
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Portuguese, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Madragoa Cafe is a place where you can find a traditional Portuguese cuisine, where the products used are fresh and Portuguese. The predominant wines are from the Douro region, however it is possible to find wines from other regions. The dishes are a selection of some of the best that each region of Portugal has to offer. The desserts are traditional and some are made at the restaurant. The affection with which clients are received, that comes from the heart. See you soon!
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had a lovely evening at the Madragoa. I'm vegetarian and have struggled to find anything that I can eat other than omlette and chips in Portugal but the owners have made a real effort to provide a couple of interesting vegetarian dishes which draw on Portuguese culinary traditions, and my partner had an amazing fish stew.

As other reviewers have said, perhaps the best thing about the restaurant is the warmth of the welcome. We were made to feel like old friends and a lot of time was taken to explain the menu to us and so on. The consequence of this is that service is not always rapid - we waited half an hour to get our bill at the end of the evening because other diners were getting the same treatment - but if you're happy to chill out and go with the flow, then this is a wonderful place to eat. I'd go back for sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    64
    22
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Portuguese soul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Perfect food, wonderful wine, the chocolate cake was the perfect end to a perfect evening. But the most perfect thing was the atmosfere. Christina and Antonio make you feel the Portuguese Soul. We will recommend to friends and family and surly return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Debra and I visited Madragoa Cafe on a Sunday night and were treated to a delicious meal prepared by Cristina and Antonio, who have created a warm and welcoming environment in which to enjoy authentic recipes from their respective regions in Portugal using local and fresh ingredients, such as the grass-fed free-range T-bone steak my wife said was among the best she's ever had. You get a geography and culinary lesson along with the dishes, which included the cod starter, one of the best Debra and I have ever had: fresh cod along with delicious greens and dressing. We topped off the meal with a light but lovely strawberry dessert. The prices are reasonable, the portions perfect, and the wine list small but affordable. Cristina and Antonio consider you guests in their restaurant rather than customers. It makes for a memorable evening. The restaurant is about a 10-15 minute walk from the downtown center; you can also take a train to the Santos station on the Cascais line. We ate at Madragoa after a day's excursion to Cascais and Estoril, a perfect ending to a wonderful day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Medlar & Eucalyptus Jam?! Sweet Novelty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were delayed in Lisbon, so we decided to stay for dinner to avoid traffic. Madragoa Café was the choice, in a city with so many nice restaurants. The ever so pleasant owners started out by placing the novelty in our 'couvert': their new Medlar and Eucalyptus Jam. Absolutely De-li-ci-ous!!
It's homemade, the jarrs are lovely, they talk about it with such affection that we... bought a couple to bring home.
The rest of the meal was normal for the place - very nice, very typical and very low cost.
But we became in love with the jam. And they say soon they'll have other flavours.
We'll be paying attention. Even because the two we brought home... were gone so very fast.
:)
We just had to share this!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice portuguese restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Nice authentic food and very good service.
We got a soup and some portuguese small dishes with fish and food. Delicious!
As main dish most people had some local fish dish. Was also very tasty!
Very good price vs quality!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madragoa Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Madragoa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madragoa Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.