We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too good...don't tell too many people or we will not get a table next time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madragoa Cafe

Madragoa Cafe
R. da Esperanca 136 | 1200 Santos-o-Velho, Lisbon, Portugal
+351 21 397 8567
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 2,352 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Portuguese, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Madragoa Cafe is a place where you can find a traditional Portuguese cuisine, where the products used are fresh and Portuguese. The predominant wines are from the Douro region, however it is possible to find wines from other regions. The dishes are a selection of some of the best that each region of Portugal has to offer. The desserts are traditional and some are made at the restaurant. The affection with which clients are received, that comes from the heart. See you soon!
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Too good...don't tell too many people or we will not get a table next time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Exceeded the high expectations set by previous reviews. Antonio & Christina make it a great evening even trying to persuade a 12 year old that he really does like vegetables!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    63
    22
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Antonio and Cristina provide a fantastic, authentic Portuguese dining experience. Cristina was especially attentive in providing an exceptional vegetarian meal. The menu has several vegetarian items, but be sure to ask about the options for vegetarian entrees.
My travelling companion enjoyed a fabulous seafood entree.
We will definitely go back if we are in Lisbon in the future.
Thanks for a great dining experience Antonio and Cristina!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a gem and so reasonably priced!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We read about this wonderful cafe on Trip Advisor and it certainly lived up to it's excellent reviews. The atmosphere is very welcoming and intimate. The menu was fully explained to us in English as was the wine list. Our mains were excellent and well presented. We were offered desert which we shared and this was also very tasty. While we were there quite a few people came and the same service was offered to everyone with an explanation of the menu and the wine list. Definitely worth putting on your dining out list if in Lisbon. If they weren't closed on a Tuesday we would have gone back again for dinner to try other offerings from their menu. We actually had to ask if he had under charged us when we received our account!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food Made With Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I were visiting Lisbon and the concierge of our hotel highly recommended this place, so we decided to give it a try. The food was outstanding. We shared the most delicious sardines and grilled prawns for appetizers, and a Cataplana (which had fresh seafood and potatoes) and a Cod dish for entrees. The whole meal was amazing from beginning to end. The prices were reasonable and the owners offered the most outstanding service I have had in a restaurant, to the extent that I went back the day after with friends (our friends agreed they had an amazing experience as well). Moreover, the day that we were sitting out on their terrace we were lucky enough to listen to life Jazz music while we were enjoying our meal. Without a doubt this restaurant was one of the highlights of our trip to Lisbon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Home Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The discovery of Madragoa Cafe has been the culinary highlight of my stay in Lisbon. I virtually never return to the same place to eat twice on a short stay - but in this case I am. The special Bacalhau Madragoa is amazing - an invention of the cook, who is there due to her passion for food and entertaining her 'guests'. You really shouldn't miss the home-baked chocolate cake either, but then I think it's one of those rare places where everything on the menu is delicious. I certainly recommend booking, as Madragoa Cafe is becoming more popular and seats are few... enjoy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madragoa Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Madragoa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madragoa Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.