We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple food well done.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moura Saluquia

Moura Saluquia
Rua Do Duque, Lisbon, Portugal (Baixa)
Improve this listing
Ranked #288 of 2,539 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Baixa
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simple food well done.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is simple food served in a small unpretentious restaurant.

We had grilled sardines, and grilled dourada (?sp). Both were perfectly cooked. The servings were generous, the owner was pleasant and helpful with our selections even with a language barrier. For 2 fish dishes, a half litre of house wine, and an appetizer, the bill was e19.

If you are looking for good simple food, cooked very well, this is a perfect spot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    64
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finchampstead
1 review
“Good fresh fish, simply cooked & very good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Tripadvisor is best when it helps us travellers find the right kind of places to meet our varied tastes and expectations - this has to be a great example. My husband and I ate at Moura Saluquia two weeks ago during a short stay in Lisbon, and went back a second time because we really liked it. As has been mentioned, it is a small family run restaurant with the wife doing the cooking and the husband managing the service. It's in an narrow street, west of the Rossio Square. Its not aiming at tourists, so no hassle and locals eat there. It does have a fairly limited menu as all cooked to order,and I can't comment on the meat dishes as we chose fish. The owner was very friendly and helpful - we can only speak as we find ! He invited us to chose our own fish from a selection, which his wife then grilled and served with potatoes and a generous salad . Our meal consisted of bread with butter ( yes it was packaged ) and olives, a local cheese, our grilled fishes ( bream and sardines), a carafe of vinho verde, bottled water, large piece of chocolate cake and two coffees. The bill came to 28 Euros - the best value for quality we have had in a long time. So it depends what you are looking for . Lisbon has many more sophisticated and certainly expensive restaurants, but if you like simply prepared fresh fish, then we would definitely recommend Moura Saluquia.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Forget it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have no idea where the rather good comments are coming from. First of all the appetizers were all served in plastic, it was 2 kinds of butter and 2 kinds of whatever, we didn`t even try. The main dish was (supposed to be) beef in madeira sauce, well the sauce was hard to find. The beef was ok, it was served with fried eggs, rice and fries. It lacked any spices, except salt maybe. The salad was served without oil and had too much vinagre on it. The waiter (owner) was more interested in watching soccer than looking after his guests.
There are much much better choises at Lissboa than this place!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Such great food at teriffic prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place is hidden on a little street off the beaten path but do yourself a favor and find it and go. We ate here twice it was so good and cheap. 6.5 euros per dish! I had the pork medallions wrapped in bacon with fried potatoes, rice and salad which is to die for, my wife had the veal one night, pork chops the next. All delicious. Huge portions cooked to order. The two entrees with a half liter of sparkling vino verde and 2 coffees came to only 21 euros!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just an average restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We tried this little restaurant for the good reviews we read on TripAdvisor. Yes, the owner (he is also the server) is not the most friendliest guy but he was kind to make recommendations and he tried his best to speak English. However, the food is not very special, something you would cook easly at your home. Baked fish...grilled pork...fries.. I would strongly recommend to try other restaurants in the area which has more authentic food and richer menu.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moura Saluquia also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Moura Saluquia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moura Saluquia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.