We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Interior Decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Leao d'Ouro

Restaurante Leao d'Ouro
Rua 10 Dezembro, 105, Lisbon 1200-358, Portugal (Encarnação)
+351 21 3426195
Improve this listing
Ranked #302 of 2,349 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $1 - $31
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Encarnação
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Interior Decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014 NEW

We found this bar/restaurant by accident on a very wet early evening. We had a plate of 6 oysters and two glasses of lovely cold prosecco. Pastries looked very inviting. The staff were very nice. Didn't stay for dinner as we had booked elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    121
    41
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulously beautiful interior”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Full disclosure: this review really isn't about the food (b/c I had only some soup at supper, though my husband's entrecote was very good and a good value) but about a gorgeous place near our hotel Mundial, centre of Lisbon--we stumbled on it by accident, and I ended up taking a zillion photos and having a wonderful talk on Portuguese (European Portuguese vs Brazilian Portugese) with some knowledgeable manager. The staff was SO kind when I wanted a grocery and 3 of them walked me to the door after dinner to show me the best known supermarket down the street. Sorry not to discuss the food--it looked great and there were wonderful displays of seafood. But the glorious interior was so over-the-top (compliment, pls) blue tile and quintessentially Lisbon-y that I could not believe we'd found it by accident.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A nice budget friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a good buffet restaurant for as low as 8€ per person, this is the place to go. Good salad selection and tasty main courses as well.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“bad service and bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Ate lunch here based on reviews. Bad, overcooked sausage and salty food. Place looked dirty and old. Do not go there. Too many good places.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A n Excellent Place to eat in central Lisbon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

We had the good fortune of receiving a recommendation to eat at Leao d'Ouro restaurant in central Lisbon. Food quality was outstanding and service was excellent. the staff are attentive and speak English well. We found pricing fair so good value for money! We had Sea Bass for 2 which was char grilled perfectly with vegetables, including roast potatoes and spinach. The fish was fresh and local. The restaurant appears to always be full with many locals eating there. It is very clean with many, many choices on the menu. You are well advised to make a reservation. The restaurant is only steps from the central square in the city - Rossio square. It is close to hotels and shopping and is an easy walk from any of the central downtown hotels. A real gem in Lisbon. Try to get there for a meal if you are in Lisbon - it is definitely worth it!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Leao d'Ouro also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Restaurante Leao d'Ouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Leao d'Ouro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.