We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei to your Saves list
Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei
5.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Travessa do Chafariz de El Rei 6, Lisbon 1100-140, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is much more than just a hotel, it's an experience that made being in Lisbon for two days feel like we visited good friends, who just happen to own a palace, for weeks! Rui and Maria were delightful. They made us feel like family, gave great suggestions, told wonderful stories, took care of our every need and at the same time managed to give us complete privacy. The building itself is exquisite and the renovation unique and tasteful. My guess is that all the rooms are great. We saw two and they were lovely. We stayed in the Ayala room with a lovely balcony looking out at the sea. The bed was delicious, the shower excellent, the breakfast huge and scrumptious, the location perfect for exploring Lisbon. It's one of the most delightful places we have ever stayed and we have been in some lovely places. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
164
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

excellent place to stay --- beautiful old mansion converted into a hotel.
believe the reviews -- it's top-notch.
great location right at the bottom of the old town.
breakfast was quite nice in the beautiful dining area.
steps away from the origin of fado any countless fado nightclubs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I feel like I should not write a review and keep this place a secret! We went here in November 2013 and was blown away. Very beautiful place - all the rooms have such characters.

The staff was extremely friendly and gave excellent advice! For example, we planned to go to Sintra the next day but didn't have much time. Rui (General Manager) gave us the top 3 much see places and they were spot on!

We wanted to stay here again on our way back home but they were fully book. So book in advance!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Having read the earlier reviews, we decided to break with our routines and instead of our 'usual' hotel, we booked into this B&B for the first time. It turned out to be an excellent decision. We were celebrating an anniversary, and were offered on arrival a bottle of champagne, which we drank the following day before going out for a romantic dinner while sitting on our wonderful balcony / terrace.

Our room, the Torreao, was, as mentioned by previous reviewers, very large, comfortable, quiet, eclectically modern, tastefully decorated and refurnished (it used to be the servants' quarter). We had a wonderful view to the river from the leaving area next to the bedroom, and in particular from the terrace at the top of the tower accessible via a spiral staircase, and from another terrace accessible from the first terrace... where we could also enjoy the 360 degree view over the old town, river, red bridge, cruise ships, tourist groups taking pictures of the palace's wonderful facade!, etc.

Our bathroom was large, the shower was big enough for a whole family! There is also one kinky aspect to our room, which for those that have never booked into it will have to find out for themselves :-)

Breakfast was a teat, not the least because as late risers it was a luxury to be served breakfast nearer midday... Others have said it, breakfast is plentiful and delicious.

Very well located for walking and exploring the centre of Lisbon, as well as this ancient neighbourhood which hides little gems and where old properties are slowly and nicely refurnished.

We received good advice from Rui, the Manager, for dinner. We went to a 1-star Michelin near Bairro Alto (Chiado), a leisurely 20 min walk from Chafariz del Rei. Had great fun (we like creative food) and was lucky to meet the chef, a humble 'genius'.

For those that love interior design, restaurantion of old buildings and architecture, visiting this palace and talking with Rui is a real treat. Sadly we could not see other rooms as it was full, but we guess all rooms are excellent.

All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Torreao is excellent if you favour privacy, excellent views, comfortable large room, enormous shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Coming back from Lisbon, what a great souvenir. We loved the hotel, our room, the exceptionnel breakfast, the welcome of Maria and Rui... Another world....
Ever go to Lisbon, we recommend this hotel (only 6 rooms)!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a 4 day stay here in October, there's probably very little I can say that hasn't been said before as it's as good as everyone has said it is.
We arrived on a Sunday morning. We gave the directions to the taxi driver and he did have a little bit of trouble finding the walkway to the entrance but when we saw the Palacete we got him to stop and we made our way there. We were greeted with a warm welcome and a tour of the ground floor. We were too early to check in but we were offered a coffee on the terrace so we took some time to relax and plan what we were going to do next.
We came back to the hotel at 3pm to go into our room. It was amazing. We had the terrace suit which has its own staircase. The rooms were stunning. You enter into a living room with full length windows overlooking the river. There is a nice comfy sofa facing the window which is perfect for sitting in on a colder day. The bedroom is beside that, again amazing then the bathroom is at the back. The bathroom is huge with a double sink and a big glass cube with the shower. There is also lots of storage available if anyone needs it. From the livingroom there is a spiral staircase up to another seating area. From here you can go out to both of the terraces - one on this floor with a little table and chairs then upstairs again to some sun loungers. As we were there in October we weren't able to make as much use of this outside space as we would have liked but we did probably spend more time in the hotel than we would normally due to the outside space and just because it's a lovely place to spend time. We did often find that photographs were being taken of the building which was strange when we were coming out to go and sit on the terrace.
Breakfast in the hotel is as good as everyone has said it is, there is a good selection of things each day and it really is enough to keep you going throughout the day.
The staff at the hotel are really friendly and make you feel welcome. We were given a map and directions of where to find things. We were also given suggestions for where to go for dinner one night. I didn't feel like they were intrusive in any way but we knew they were there if we needed anything at all.
I hadn't really spent much time in this part of Lisbon before and I didn't really know what to expect, but it's a great area to be in. We walked everywhere, we didn't take any public transport and it was fine. There are lots of restaurants nearby if you don't want to go far at night.
This hotel is beautiful, a lot of time has been spent renovating this and looking at the details. If you are considering going to Lisbon then I really would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: I would recommend the tower suite, it's the only room I've been in but I can't imagine a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel in an ideal area if you want Fado evenings. The owner and staff are extremely professional and attention to detail throughout the hotel is spot-on. We stayed for the first 3 nights of a 3 week touring holiday in Portugal. Unfortunately they had no rooms for our return 3 weeks later but went out of their way to find us alternative accommodation. They have a beautiful website but don`t let it fool you into thinking this hotel is too posh or pompous. It is the opposite. The staff are friendly and welcoming and you feel at home immediately. We cannot praise it highly enough!

Room Tip: When we return we will pay the extra to have a view over the river. All rooms are beautiful but this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei

Address: Travessa do Chafariz de El Rei 6, Lisbon 1100-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 6 amazing and luxurious suites with direct river views and in the heart of the city, this family house has the highest level of service, letting you feel at home from the moment you enter the front door. The excellence of the service and the comfort of the house brings light to the new Home Boutique Hotel concept.With distinctive and unique lounges with many different styles, the house has a range of possibilities to organize parties, press conferences, weddings, meetings, business meals and all kind of events.For those who prefer a more cozy and familiar ambience, either on business or leisure, the Palacete Chafariz D’El Rei is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacete Chafariz d`El Rei Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.