We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel yet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei to your Saves list
Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei
5.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Travessa do Chafariz de El Rei 6, Lisbon 1100-140, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel yet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

It was our good fortune to blindly pick this hotel for our recent stay in Lisbon. It is stunningly beautiful with a level of care and service to match. From the first minute of our arrival we were made to feel as honoured guests and nothing was too much. The hotel is a small, beautifully restored palace with very large rooms and bathrooms and Rui, the owner, took great pride in showing us around and explaining the history of the restoration which he himself had undertaken. Breakfast is served at the table and we were spared the buffet experience. Almost as a bonus, the hotel is located exactly in the heart of the old city with a view of the sea. In our opinion, this is the only place to stay in Lisbon and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: There are only 6 suites and all are excellent. One room on the first floor has a particularly large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
188
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Don't be put off by the street entrance of this amazingly beautiful and pristine hotel. It is lovingly tended by an enthusiastic group of young staff and managers who are passionate about this hotel and this city and made our stay so memorable. If you can tear yourself away from the palace, you will find you are in the heart of the original residential part of Lisbon, filled with quaint cafes serving authentic Portuguese cuisine, sometimes with the famous Fado singing. The best is the breakfast served in exquisitely restored and decorated dining rooms with silver and crystal, and delicate china overlooking the garden terrace.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in the largest suite at the top of the hotel, which afforded amazing views of the river and city from the various balconies and roof terrace. The suite was spacious and comfortable with two separate sitting areas as well as all the outdoor space. The exterior of the hotel is one of the loveliest buildings in Lisbon and we were regularly trying to duck out of photographs people were taking whilst sightseeing!

The public rooms were beautifully furnished and decorated and we were encouraged to use and enjoy them. We particularly liked all the stained glass and ornate tiles. Breakfast was served whenever you wanted it and was very pleasant.

The hotel staff were courteous and very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. And they gave us three lovely restaurant recommendations.

If we could suggest anything to improve our marvellous experience, it would be the addition of bathrobes and possibly tea and coffee making facilities.

This hotel made a refreshing change from our usual anonymous chain hotels and definitely made for a very memorable trip to Lisbon. I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We ended our stay in Portugal with 3 nights at this hotel and didn't want to leave. It is hidden away at the top of a flight of stone steps in the old district of Alfama and stepping over the threshold of the heavy oak door is like going through the wardrobe to the magic of Narnia. The interior has been beautifully restored and is filled with interesting and lovely objects. There is a real sense of history and the rooms are comfortable and tastefully furnsihed. The staff couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. Staying here was a unique experience and worth every penny.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Myself and my Husband stayed in this Hotel for one night at the end of a weeks holiday in Portugal, accompanied by my Husband's Parents. We stayed in suites Amaya and Lola respectively. Cannot praise the Hotel or it's Staff highly enough. Special mention must go to Maria, who really made our stay something special. Beautiful setting, with plenty of areas to sit and relax and soak up the beautiful surroundings. Delicious breakfast and no pressure for us to leave by a particular time the following morning. Our only complaint is that we were only staying at the Hotel for one night - we will definitely return and we will definitely stay longer the next time!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was the highlight of our stay in Lisbon-a beautifully restored house discreetly situated in Alfama -6 huge suites with all mod cons; We had 2 adjoining suites taking up a whole floor with terrace overlooking the river; Gorgeous breakfast; Exceptionally and tastefully furnished; Very much worth spendign that little extra; Staff so helpful-very luxurious. Can stay here and walk to many excellent restuarants and listen to Fado--a must on your stay in lisbon but keep this gem to yourselves!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were only one night a the Palacete Chafariz and we wished we would have been able to stay longer. We do travel a lot around the world and this is the first time that I take the time to give my comments on TripAvisor. This place is just WONDERFUL. We liked everything about it. We had the room in the tower (on 3 levels) !!! The owner is really nice and take really good care of its guests. I highly recommend to everyone to stay at the Chafariz in Lisbon.

Room Tip: Any rooms but if you can, get the Tower Suite !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei

Address: Travessa do Chafariz de El Rei 6, Lisbon 1100-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 6 amazing and luxurious suites with direct river views and in the heart of the city, this family house has the highest level of service, letting you feel at home from the moment you enter the front door. The excellence of the service and the comfort of the house brings light to the new Home Boutique Hotel concept.With distinctive and unique lounges with many different styles, the house has a range of possibilities to organize parties, press conferences, weddings, meetings, business meals and all kind of events.For those who prefer a more cozy and familiar ambience, either on business or leisure, the Palacete Chafariz D’El Rei is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacete Chafariz d`El Rei Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.