We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altis Belem Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Altis Belem Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   Doca do Bom Sucesso, Lisbon 1400-038, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free welcome drink
Ranked #16 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Athens, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Just excellent.
Personnel is always ready to cover your needs.
The room I've stayed was very spacious with everything that a traveler needs either going for business or pleasure!
On the other hand it is not very cheap!

Room Tip: No need to choose something special, all the rooms are excellent. I've visited 4 and they were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, General Manager at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We were very happy with your choice for Altis belém Hotel & Spa during your stay in Lisbon. Belém and the Tagus river side is a privileged location in town, thank you for the published review

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours faithfully

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    92
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
57
250
10
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I just spend 4 nights in a balcony room and I really loved the hotel! This was my first trip to Lisbon and I was a little confused as to the choices of accommodations and chose this hotel based upon the reviews and comments on Tripadvisor. Modern style....luxury touches in the rooms.....great amenities.....professional service. Food/beverage service was quick and good. Spa was great! I chose the balcony room because I like to sleep with the windows open at night (and not use the AC). I was disappointed that there was a walkway along my balcony leading to an open staircase to the courtyard below. Other rooms could (and did) walk past my room on their way downstairs. The concierge said it was for "emergency exits" but seemed to be used for regular use too. That certainly restricted leaving the doors open at night and privacy during the daytime. I would choose to stay at this hotel again.

Tulemar Dave

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, General Manager at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We were very happy with your choice for Altis belém Hotel & Spa during your stay in Lisbon. Belém and thank you for your published feedback.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We're just back from our third stay in Lisbon, and this hotel far exceeded the previous two we've stayed in. The black and white decor may not appeal to all but it most certainly appealed to us. All the staff were friendly and courteous. The pool is beautiful and spacious. The gym is small but well equipped. Breakfasts and dinners were delicious, and as for the Michelin-starred Feitoria.... The meal was out of this world.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you very much.

We were very happy with your published review after your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa. during your stay in Lisbon.
Our Feitoria Restaurant team is also "touché" by your compliment.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon and always

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel would have merited five stars BUT, and it is a big BUT, my sleep quality was zero because on the morning I was leaving I discovered a plasticated undersheet on the bed had been the cause of my sleepless nights. The practice of putting plastic undersheets on beds in hotels is spreading and I urge all Tripadvisor reviewers to title their reviews "Plastic undersheet" if they encounter it. You wake up in the night bathed in sweat, wondering if you are having a heart attack and get virtually no sleep.
Apart from that, everything at this hotel is perfect: rooms, bathrooms, spa, view from hotel, cafe, service. All eclipsed by the undersheet, however.

Room Tip: Remove the understheet as soon as you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
We were very happy with your choice for Altis belém Hotel & Spa during your stay in Lisbon. Belém.

On the behalf of our team a big thank you for the published review mentioning the good points.
Please note that our coversheet protecting the mattress is double face, one in cotton facing the sheet and another in plastic facing the mattress.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful afternoon in the spa. Not only did it have the usual facilities that can be expected but it was clean and staff were friendly. We went to the restaurant for a few snacks and desserts afterwards and that too was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We were very happy with your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa. during your stay in Lisbon and we thank you for your kind published review.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon and always

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed at his hotel mid February. The weather was mostly lousy, but we enjoyed the location close to the sights. The hotel was quiet, I subscribe this to the low season throughout the country. The staff was helpful and offered assistance. The rooms were spacious and the ceiling to floor windows created a lovely openness. The breakfast was top class, the quality, preparation and variety was impressive as much as it was enjoyable.

The hotel, ultra modern with an abundance of black, however did not grab me...no atmosphere and little soul. The black stoneware, always beautiful when new, showed signs of wear. This is evident in the passage ways and bathroom. Talking about bathroom, here modern design outweighed functionality. The spa area / pool was beautiful but I found it hugely out priced. The turn down service was poor.....

It was a good experience which brought to the fore the importance of balance..... between design,functionality and personality. I will not stay here again, even though I enjoy modern combined with luxury, the mix here does not work for me.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are very glad for your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa during your stay in Lisbon and we have taken good note of your review and thank you for your time. A Design hotel is certainty not always consensual.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have been there twice now. Each time was an excellent stay. The service is brilliant and the rooms provide everything I need. The view to the Boca de bom successo is fantastic. The breakfast is always delicious. I have been there on business trips but I also would recommend it for private stays. Check out the Spa area, it is clean and provides a great atmosphere. If you can complain anything, it's the price. But quality has it's price, so it's fine from my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are glad that you have chosen the Altis Belém Hotel & Spa for your stay in Lisbon and most of all that you have enjoyed it for more tahn once.

On the behalf of our team a big thank you for the published review, we are very happy to read your compliment, and recognition.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altis Belem Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Belem Hotel & Spa

Address: Doca do Bom Sucesso, Lisbon 1400-038, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Belem Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa Hotel Altis Belem - Luxury & Design by the River Altis Belem Hotel & Spa is a 5 star design hotel in Lisbon, located in Belem overlooking the Tagus River, representing a contemporary view of the Golden Age of Discovery. Here you can find the gourmet Restaurant Feitoria (One Michelin Star) and the Spa BSpa by Karin Herzog. The theme of discovery is threaded throughout all of the hotel's 50 luxury rooms (including 5 suites) absorbing and enticing you to embark on an exotic journey displayed in a series of illustrated wall panels, giving each room a bespoke atmosphere. A design hotel in Lisbon that allows you to go on a journey from Mauritania on the West coast of Africa, through Arabia, India, Siam, Osaka and across to the other side of the world via Brazil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Altis Belem Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altis Belem Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.