We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware plastic undersheet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Altis Belem Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Altis Belem Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   Doca do Bom Sucesso, Lisbon 1400-038, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
London
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Beware plastic undersheet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel would have merited five stars BUT, and it is a big BUT, my sleep quality was zero because on the morning I was leaving I discovered a plasticated undersheet on the bed had been the cause of my sleepless nights. The practice of putting plastic undersheets on beds in hotels is spreading and I urge all Tripadvisor reviewers to title their reviews "Plastic undersheet" if they encounter it. You wake up in the night bathed in sweat, wondering if you are having a heart attack and get virtually no sleep.
Apart from that, everything at this hotel is perfect: rooms, bathrooms, spa, view from hotel, cafe, service. All eclipsed by the undersheet, however.

Room Tip: Remove the understheet as soon as you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
We were very happy with your choice for Altis belém Hotel & Spa during your stay in Lisbon. Belém.

On the behalf of our team a big thank you for the published review mentioning the good points.
Please note that our coversheet protecting the mattress is double face, one in cotton facing the sheet and another in plastic facing the mattress.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    105
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
61
276
12
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had a wonderful afternoon in the spa. Not only did it have the usual facilities that can be expected but it was clean and staff were friendly. We went to the restaurant for a few snacks and desserts afterwards and that too was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We were very happy with your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa. during your stay in Lisbon and we thank you for your kind published review.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon and always

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed at his hotel mid February. The weather was mostly lousy, but we enjoyed the location close to the sights. The hotel was quiet, I subscribe this to the low season throughout the country. The staff was helpful and offered assistance. The rooms were spacious and the ceiling to floor windows created a lovely openness. The breakfast was top class, the quality, preparation and variety was impressive as much as it was enjoyable.

The hotel, ultra modern with an abundance of black, however did not grab me...no atmosphere and little soul. The black stoneware, always beautiful when new, showed signs of wear. This is evident in the passage ways and bathroom. Talking about bathroom, here modern design outweighed functionality. The spa area / pool was beautiful but I found it hugely out priced. The turn down service was poor.....

It was a good experience which brought to the fore the importance of balance..... between design,functionality and personality. I will not stay here again, even though I enjoy modern combined with luxury, the mix here does not work for me.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are very glad for your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa during your stay in Lisbon and we have taken good note of your review and thank you for your time. A Design hotel is certainty not always consensual.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have been there twice now. Each time was an excellent stay. The service is brilliant and the rooms provide everything I need. The view to the Boca de bom successo is fantastic. The breakfast is always delicious. I have been there on business trips but I also would recommend it for private stays. Check out the Spa area, it is clean and provides a great atmosphere. If you can complain anything, it's the price. But quality has it's price, so it's fine from my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are glad that you have chosen the Altis Belém Hotel & Spa for your stay in Lisbon and most of all that you have enjoyed it for more tahn once.

On the behalf of our team a big thank you for the published review, we are very happy to read your compliment, and recognition.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed at Altis Belem over Valentine’s weekend and thoroughly enjoyed visiting some fantastic Lisbon tourist attractions all within walking distance. As much as we were impressed by the local architecture and history the Hotel and staff were the highlight of our visit. The rooms have a lovely open view of the Tagus River which makes for lovely walks along the riverbank, a delight on a city break. The hotel itself is a rather unassuming building but don’t be fooled, inside is a modern but beautifully designed, inspired living space. Our room 202 was very comfortable which is often elusive when style rules. This was probably eased by the wonderful bedding. I actually described the pillows as “clouds”, much to husband’s amusement. Talking of husband, who is not so emotional or so easily impressed, he also gives the hotel his ultimate approval. I think he liked the fact that this is obviously a five star hotel but the staff are so welcoming and relaxed that you feel you can thoroughly enjoy the luxury without feeling restricted. Breakfast is high quality, service is brilliant. Room service was efficient and I must compliment the chef on making a simple dish exceptional. We were even bought a complimentary Valentine chocolatier creation. I like my own home to be very clean, I work in healthcare so understand cleanliness to aseptic standard so for me to say our room was very clean is high accolade indeed. Finally the staff, wonderful really does not cover the attentive but respectful efficiency that we were blessed with. Every single one of them were lovely but I must mention Jaou who took such excellent care of us. We will definitely return to enjoy this hotel and Lisbon again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We are glad that you have chosen the Altis Belém Hotel & Spa for your stay in Lisbon and most of all that you have enjoyed it.

On the behalf of our team a big thank you for the published review, we are very happy to read your compliment, and recognition.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a modern design hotel, its ultra cool design affords many interesting features, such as electric curtains, almost panoramic view of the water, black toilet roll etc
We stayed there 7th-9th February. I found the staff to be helpful and the hotel was clean. Perhaps it was the time of the year but it seemed empty. The reception is so quiet you could hear a pin drop. We went to the bar on the Saturday night & though the cocktail was lovely it was empty.
Our room only had a bath with a shower attachment, which again was a little strange.
It is near several sightseeing spots and some lovely local eateries over the bridge so the location is fine but you will need a tram into town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We were very happy with your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa. during your stay in Lisbon.

Again we thank you for the time you dedicate to us, publishing a review in this site, although the winter time and the quietness.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon and always

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I arrived in Lisbon and was taken directly to this chic and very clean hotel with a perfect location close the Belém Tower, Monastery and & Berardo Collection all at walking distance. I was there for work and upon my arrival left my laptop computer inside the taxicab after having dinner in downtown.
The staff was incredibly helpful and with an immediate action of João Guerreiro at reception, I was able to identify and call the exact taxi driver (after calling the restaurant that ordered the cab).
It saved a LOT of headaches and frustration!
I will not forget this stay at Altis Belém!
Definitely will come back!

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms with a view to the river are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We were very happy to read your review about your stay at Altis Belém Hotel & Spa., in Lisbon.

On the behalf of our team a big thank you for your recognition and also by mentioning João he is "touché"

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon and always

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Altis Belem Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Belem Hotel & Spa

Address: Doca do Bom Sucesso, Lisbon 1400-038, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#22 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Belem Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa Hotel Altis Belem - Luxury & Design by the River Altis Belem Hotel & Spa is a 5 star design hotel in Lisbon, located in Belem overlooking the Tagus River, representing a contemporary view of the Golden Age of Discovery. Here you can find the gourmet Restaurant Feitoria (One Michelin Star) and the Spa BSpa by Karin Herzog. The theme of discovery is threaded throughout all of the hotel's 50 luxury rooms (including 5 suites) absorbing and enticing you to embark on an exotic journey displayed in a series of illustrated wall panels, giving each room a bespoke atmosphere. A design hotel in Lisbon that allows you to go on a journey from Mauritania on the West coast of Africa, through Arabia, India, Siam, Osaka and across to the other side of the world via Brazil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Splendia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Altis Belem Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altis Belem Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.