We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheerful, colourful, central and wear your comfy shoes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pensao Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pensao Royal to your Saves list
Pensao Royal
Rua do Crucifixo 50, 3rd fl, Lisbon 1100, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 169 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheerful, colourful, central and wear your comfy shoes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The previous reviews accurately reflect the hospitality you experience when you stay at Pensao Royal. It was our first visit to Portugal so were apprehensive, but Paula is friendly, helpful, intuitive and speaks good English, but happy to put up with bad Portuguese as well! She provides directions and great recommendations for eateries that are away from the tourist areas but easy to find. We stayed 2 nights en route to Sintra. The metro station is nearby so easy to get to from the airport. And central to the Rossio station (where the Sintra train departs), the 28 and 15 trams, Praca Commercia and the central shopping area. Our room was delightfully cat-themed, clean, comfortable and had everything we needed including a neat en-suite where everything worked well. It was hot in Lisbon in late June, so the air-conditioner was very useful to cool the room at night. Breakfast, as explained in previous reviews is a feast with something for everyone including lots of fruit, yoghurt, delicious savoury egg tarts (the Portuguese love their eggy tarts!), cake, coffee, juice and lots more. Plus Paula seems to gather together guests from around the world who are interesting and willing to share their experiences, so breakfast and the foyer become places to share experiences and recommendations for getting out and about in the wonderful city of Lisbon. The sign from the street is small so keep your eyes peeled, and the steps up the amazing stairwell can be testing after a long day, but the Pensao Royal that greets you is relaxing, fun and a great place to base yourself in Lisbon. We will definitely be returning to Lisbon and would stay with Paula again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    40
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
110
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Location, great. Paula, omnipresent. Breakfast, plentiful. Rooms, immaculate.

Really enjoyed my time in Lisbon and I'm sure Paula added to this experience. When she gets AC for the rooms it will be 5 star. Definitely go here for a chilled out, informal B&B. Beats any hotel I've ever stayed in. Just be warned, after a long journey the stairs up to the pension are knackering and don't bring heels (girlfriend's advice) due to cobbles around Lisbon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If what you're looking for is the security that comes from the repetitive formulaic nature of chain hotels complete with a wall mounted hair dryer in the bathroom and a selection of coffee, tea, hot chocolate and individually wrapped biscuits on the counter this is not the place for you.

Instead, you will find a level of personal service from Paula (who evidently never sleeps) that is second to none and a breakfast of homemade cakes and pastries that must be experienced to be fully appreciated.

My girlfriend and I arrived early and were able to leave our bags behind reception. Paula, having welcomed us, advised that the room would be ready at 'about 12'. We spent the day exploring and returned at 17:00 to find our bags had been placed neatly in our room, which was brightly decorated with artificial flowers, prints of butterflies and, most notably, a number of thank you cards from previous guests. These can also be found in all other areas of the hotel! I should also note that the room was spotlessly clean.

The next morning we woke to a breakfast of bread and savouries, ham, cheeses etc plus an impressive selection of fruit salads. In addition to these were 4 or 5 large home made cakes, small individual cakes, pancakes, quiches, brioche and more. All having been home made, by Paula overnight!

If we go back to Lisbon we'll definitely stay here. The only possible downside was a lack of air conditioning which in the peak of summer could be a problem but the fan was sufficient for us in July.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Perfect location - right in the centre, close to the metro and ferry. Walking distance from Belem :D Cosy, colorful and clean bedrooms, lovely and helpful Paula, who is in charge........amazing breakfast, everyday fresh cakes and fruit. Spent 5 days in June/July 2013 and Big recommendation. Hoping to come back. Tomas & Dasa

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze, Italia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at Pensao Royal at the end of June, our stay was really great especially thanks to Paula who runs the place in an amazing way. We had a double room tastefully decorated with a cosy en suite bathroom. In the price is included a mouth-watering homemade breakfast with a good selection of fresh fruit, cakes and some savoury pie. The Pensao has a very convenient location just a step away from the underground station, the Electrico bus stop and at a walking distance from Rossio, Praca de Commercio and the Barrio Alto. Paula was great giving us a lot of advice about things to do and especially in suggesting some cheap but very good restaurants. This is a place I would definetely come back to if I had the chance.
Giulia & Giacomo.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The building doesn't hint at all at the colorful kitsch contained within. If you like bright colors, themed rooms, playful decor, and delicious homemade breakfasts, you'll love this place. The proprietress, Paula, is helpful with information about local restaurants and sights. She also helped us track down lost baggage. She is simultaneously world-weary, friendly and chatty, likes to listen to Rammstein and likes stuffed animals. Paula is one of a kind :-) ... My only complaint is that if your room faces the street, there is some street noise at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Pensao Royal is clean, tidy and in a good location but what makes it great is Paula. It is rare to meet a person so full of energy and passion for what she does. She makes you feel at home , gives great directions and advice, bakes delicious cakes. She even helped us with our heavy luggage up and down the stairs. My mum and I will miss her!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.3 mi away
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#32 of 169 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Guesthouse
The Imperial Guesthouse
#58 of 169 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de Santos Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#29 of 169 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
2.4 mi away
Typical Lisbon Guest House
1.6 mi away
The Sky Lofts Lisbon
The Sky Lofts Lisbon
#30 of 169 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Royal

Address: Rua do Crucifixo 50, 3rd fl, Lisbon 1100, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Pensao Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Royal Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensao Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.