We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chiado 16

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chiado 16 to your Saves list
Chiado 16
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Largo da Academia das Belas artes no 16 | Chiado, Lisbon 1200-005, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We spent 4 nights in one of the suites and couldn't fault the accommodation. The location is ideal for exploring Lisbon, either on foot or using the tram. The staff were very welcoming on arrival and most helpful in making recommendations.
The quality of the furnishing was very high and every facility was available in the suite. One of the most outstanding things about Chiado 16 is the size of the suites, a large kitchen/dining area, lounge with views over Lisbon, good size bedroom,bathroom and even a utility room.
Highly recommended, one of the best hotels we've stayed in!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
167
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at 3 great and very different lodgings on our trip to Portugal and all four adults liked this the best. We are grandparents, parents and 10 month old baby traveling together. We reserved a suite for the baby and parents which was fantastic. It was beautifully furnished, had a well equipped full kitchen, a wonderful bathroom, and a great view. The location was perfect in this lovely district which is central to all. The "team" at the hotel, which in our case was Rebecca and Pedro, was so friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. All of their recommendations were good and they were lovely people. We would recommend this to anyone traveling as couples, family, business, friends etc. We were only there two nights but would think it perfect for a longer term stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

An excellent choice if you want to be treated as a individual rather than just another guest. It is ideally situated to the main areas of Lisbon. If you get the chance take the trains to the palaces at Sintra or the seaside at Cascia

Room Tip: The river facing room we had was a little noisy from traffic about 4-00am but the view was terrific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wraysbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Very discrete boutique hotel, well furnished, great view, excellent professional service. Perfect for us, but not if you want an international hotel with piano bar and 24/7 concierge etc!! But that's why we came here! Another Mr and Mrs Smith success.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at Chiado 16 for a week in early October. It is in the Chiado district. We found that to be a very convenient location for everything we wanted to do. It was close to public transportation. But we found that for a group of 4, a taxi was half the price per person and got you there a lot faster.

The rooms were beautiful. We had a one bedroom suite. The kitchen was just right. The living room had a great view. The bed was comfortable. We used the washer a couple of times.

The staff were the best! They were knowledgeable, thoughtful, helpful, and fun. They helped us get dinner reservations and find Fado that wasn't too touristy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Words would not do justice to this lovely boutique hotel that we happened to stay earlier this month. From the word Go it has been an amazing stay and experience. The room we were given had a stunning view of the waterfront and castle. Was beautifully done up with antique cupboards, coffee etc. The highlight was their staff - right from Pedro to the morning team, was superlative. They did make us feel like friends in their city and helped us each day with local travel, itenaries, cabs etc. The proximity to the hotel to Bairro Alto, main square, shopping areas is also great. The morning breakfast should not be missed. They make it fresh and delicious! The tram stations and metro is close by so makes it to ally worth the stay!

Room Tip: Choose the ones which the staff picks for you! They have done each room very tastefully!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a long romantic week-end. We loved having so much space and the decor is fantastic! The service was great, Pedro was always there for us, printing out maps and giving us tips on local restaurants. The girls that cooked breakfast were very warm and friendly, worth paying a bit more for it! I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Have breakfast at the hotel, it's very good. The local yogurt is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chiado 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiado 16

Address: Largo da Academia das Belas artes no 16 | Chiado, Lisbon 1200-005, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chiado 16 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiado16 is a small boutique hotel located in Chiado, the vibrant heart of historic Lisbon. Our location is excellent, all of Lisbon's sights and eateries are within easy reach as are the museums, cultural sights and shopping. Lisbon, with its wonderful architecture and light is a delight, full of contrasts and interesting things to do and see. Get a wonderful feel for Lisbon at Chiado16, just four suites and three double rooms, many with amazing views,our wonderful staff will do our very best to make your stay comfortable, and we hope, memorable for all the right reasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Chiado 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiado 16 Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiado 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.