We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot for anyone's vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chiado 16

Save Saved
You added Chiado 16 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chiado 16
Largo da Academia das Belas artes no 16 | Chiado, Lisbon 1200-005, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 200 Specialty lodging in Lisbon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot for anyone's vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I had often thought of visiting Lisbon but after reading an article in our local paper about a small Hotel and the description of the property we decided it was a good time to visit this September.
All descriptions of Chiado 16 are on. It is located in a great area where one can easily walk to local shops and restaurants.
We spent three nights, two in the Panoramic Suite and one in the historic suite. These are both lovely open apartments with high ceilings, French doors that open to a small balcony with a view over the city to the Tagus River, furnished with all the amenities one could wish for after a long day or night of travel.
Helene, Rebecca and Gonzalo were perfect hosts and very helpful with suggestions for restaurants , sightseeing and assistance in making reservation.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartments on floor 4 & 3. They were very spacious. The higher floor "panorami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
130
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Chiado 16 in the "room with a view.". We looked out over old Lisbon and the water - 2 huge window with cushions as seats. A wonderful place to look out of both day and night. Our room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was modern and extremely large! The front desk staff went above and beyond for us - helping with restaurants and planning what to see. The hotel is perfectly situated for access in Lisbon and beyond on the trains. We highly recommend staying at Chiado 16!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The location of the hotel is wonderful - a short distance from the sights and sounds of the the Chiado. The recommendations we received during our stay from the reception crew ensured that we were able to make the most of our holiday. The fixtures and fittings were of an extremely high standard.
We recommend:
- A segway tour of lisbon.
- Dinner at Ramiro's (Definitely worth the 30 min wait)
- A evening of Fado music at 'fora de mods'

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Wonderful hotel - wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. Easy to walk or take the trams to all the sites. The rooms and suites ( we had one of each) are beautifully furnished and comfortable, and the front of desk staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We decided to book 5 nights for our family vacation at Chiado16 after reading all the awesome reviews on tripadvisor and Booking.com. We thought that the reviews are too good to be ture but WOW.....Chiado16 really exceeded our expectations. It was the most excellet hotel we've stayed at even compaired to Auberge du Soleil in Napa Valley. The thing is, we didn;t feel like we were staying at the hotel. We truly felt like we are at home as if we own a luxurious condo with top notch service! Traveling with a year old daughter is not easy and can be chaotic but becuase of Chiado16 we could have a realaxing vacation.

We stayed at Room 2, Chic Retreat Apartment. The room is beautifully decorated and very spacious with wonderful views from the windows. The kitchen was fully equiped and the laundry room. We had everything we needed in the apartment. The location was perfect as it is located right in the center of Chiado but in the quiet high-end neighborhood. And, most importanly we LOVE the effortlessly excellent service!!!! We were greeted by Rebecca's warm welcome upon arrival. She is very helpful and sweet. We had a wonderful babysitter, Arlene for our daughter for two nights. We've never had a babysitter service provided by a hotel and wasn't so sure about it but after meeting with Arlene, we felt very comfortable and could enjoy our romantic date nights. We also met all the house keeping ladies and they were so nice and sweet. Our apartment was spotless everyday! Lastly and most importantly, we can't forget to mention about Gonzalo. He truly made our stay in Lisbon very special and unforgetable. His recommendations were all excellent and his hospitality sprit just amazed us.
Chiado16, you really are excellent and we can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Москва
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful rooms in wonderful placr. We stayed in Chiado 16 during visiting Lisbon. It's the best place to stay with baby- you have all that you need- kitchen, microwave etc. The suit is very big and interior is wonderful. Modern art and old furniture- nothing else. I like this place very much- all remarcable places of interest are nearby! The stuff is very friendly! I like the guy on reception, he is so sweety:)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Thanks goodness this small hotel is listed under "specialty lodging" and not "hotels" on Trip Advisor or I never would have gotten a reservation....it's that fantastic! This was the best hotel of my 3 1/2 week stay in Europe. My superior room with a view was huge with hardwood floors, nicely appointed decor and gorgeous, tall windows overlooking the Tagus River, Cathedral and Sao Jorge Castle. The beautiful bathroom was also huge with great views. The location was perfect and within walking distance of everything. I even walked up to Sao Jorge castle. The area is very safe, close to great restaurants and the tram, but still on a very quiet street. Topping even the wonderful accomodations was the amazing staff, Rebecca and Goncalo, who helped tailor my explorations of Lisbon and surrounding areas to my interests. They also provided local, insider tips that I never would have known about. I normally don't eat breakfast in the hotel, but I did for a few days and it was delicious and a bargain at 10 Euros. I will definitely return to Lisbon and Chiado 16. Don't even think of staying anywhere else in Lisbon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chiado 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiado 16

Address: Largo da Academia das Belas artes no 16 | Chiado, Lisbon 1200-005, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 200 Specialty lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiado16 is a small boutique hotel located in Chiado, the vibrant heart of historic Lisbon. Our location is excellent, all of Lisbon's sights and eateries are within easy reach as are the museums, cultural sights and shopping. Lisbon, with its wonderful architecture and light is a delight, full of contrasts and interesting things to do and see. Get a wonderful feel for Lisbon at Chiado16, just four suites and three double rooms, many with amazing views,our wonderful staff will do our very best to make your stay comfortable, and we hope, memorable for all the right reasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Chiado 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiado 16 Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiado 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.