We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes and No.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa do Bairro B&B

Save Saved
You added Casa do Bairro B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa do Bairro B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Beco do Caldeira, no 1 | Cruzamento com Rua Fernandes Tomás, Santa Catarina, Lisbon 1200-084, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 136 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Belleville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Yes and No.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The good news: it's a lovely little boutique hotel with great staff, especially Hugo, who was most helpful in guiding us to the areas of the city that we wanted to see. The bad news: it's impossible to find, because the "street" that it's on is actually a staircase. So call when you arrive, and if someone is there, they will talk you in. Another negative: you're on your own after midnight -- no one employed by the hotel stays through the night. I suppose that's not a really big deal, and there is a phone number to call in case of emergency, but it was a bit disquieting. In summary, if you're young and don't mind uphill climbs, you'll be fine here. If you're old and looking to be pampered, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casadobairro, Gérant at Casa do Bairro B&B, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for your comment and we're glad to read that you've liked your stay with us.
In fact, we're a guesthouse and not a hotel and we don't pretend to be a hotel. Our concept is providing our guests a wonderful Lisbon experience by supporting them the best we can.
Our guesthouse is located right downtown, but in a very calm area, which is very difficult to find downtown Lisbon and all the directions to get there are clearly indicated in our website either you prefer to come by public transportations or taxi or even car. For our next guests who read this comment, may I insist that you really should print those directions, because, yes, it's not easy to find us without them, but all good things aren't hard to get...
When you arrive, you don't need to call us because we are always waiting for our guests, and in order to welcome you in the best way, we always ask you to inform us about your approximate arriving time or airline information. But, like we would do with our friends, we will welcome you with our finest Portuguese smile and we will pamper you no matter what!
So, let us disagree regarding your advice to "old people" to prefer hotels... well, unless you're talking about older than 99 years old!
Once again thank you for your comment and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Casa do Bairro or maybe at our new guesthouse Casa dos Loios which will open in Oporto in Spring 2013 and you will be pampered as you and all our guests deserve.
Best regards
Alexandre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    55
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
85
286
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liebefeld
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent a couple of days in Lisbon around new jears 2012/13. We had a very good time at the Casa do bairro. Its is in the lover Bairoo alto and pretty good location (close to a cool mirador overlooking the Tejo). We`got a drink, a very warm welcom and a lot of information before we settled in our room. Very nice interior with a lot of cool and funky art. The breakfast is good, with a choice of Portugiese sweets some ham cheese, .... on sundays even with some extras. Theres a selfservice bar and fridge outside on the roof theres a small but nice terrace ( if weather is warm), Thats would be my prefered "green room", while the indoor space for everyone (front desk breakfast area ist a bit small, and less cosy to sit when coming back at night. But this really is detail! The staff was very freindly and there for when we dah questions, or reservations to make. About Computer and all that jazz. The is one device and a W-Lan but that one was not strong enough to serve the room. I used my smartphone anyway. Iwould go back right away

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very good location near train, tram and metro connections - and yet in a nice and quiet resindential area. Short walk from interesting shops, bars and restaurants.

The room was spacious, clean and cheerfully colourful. The breakfast was good, especially if you like sweet things.

The B&B manager was very active in offering help and advice (maps, restaurant hints and reservations, etc.).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberlour
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a quirky B&B decorated with an eclectic mix of modern and shabby chic furniture and various works of art in a part of town that was not too salubrious as the surroundings were covered in graffitti.
In fact most of Lisbon was covered in graffitti which does not give a great initial impression to any visitor.
At the bottom of the steep hill there is the tram stop number 28 which is very quaint and it passes several landmarks.
The Lisboa Viva card was great value at 6 Euro daily,as it allowed non stop travel on the excellent metro service and the trams and cable cars.

The room was simply and tastefully decorated and clean.
The bed was a standard double and there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the form of a kettle in the room,but this may the norm in Portugal, so I would advise a travel kettle.
The bathroom was lovely with a fantastic power shower and loads of piping hot water which was great after a days walking around the sights.

Unfortunately sleep quality was not very good as there was a couple in the room next door who would be very noisy as they tried to open their room later at night as well as loudly closing various bits of furniture and arguing at the top of their voices,which is no fault of the establishment but just bad manners on their part.

Breakfasts were taken downstairs in the rustic dining area.It was a self service with a lovely bowl of fresh fruit salad and lots of homebaked pastries and bread with butter and honey.
The hosts were charming and nothing was too much bother for them and they went out of their way to offer excellent service and advice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at Casa do Bairro for two nights on our way to Sintra. I would rate this B&B a little above average. The building itself is tastefully decorated and is clean. Our room was comfortable and we were able to get a good night's sleep. We also found the managers to be very friendly and helpful.

On the negative side is the location. It is very difficult for taxi drivers to find. Also, I wouldn't consider the neighborhood to be the best. There is graffiti everywhere and the adjacent building is abandoned and collapsing. (There are steel girders surrounding the building so the falling walls will fall inward instead of on someone's head.) However, it is easy to get the trolley from there although you must be aware of pickpockets on that particular trolley. We were targeted twice on the same day by two different groups. Luckily we were able to thwart their efforts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Absolutely perfect place to stay if you don't want the hotel scene. We arrived quite late as our flight was delayed and were warmly greeted by Marco, who checked us in and gave us a run down of the neighborhood, restaurant recommendations and directions to the nearest transportation. The place is tastefully decorated with fabulous art, and Marco explained the honor system for the stocked fridge complete with beer and wine.
The room we stayed in was spacious yet cozy and the shower was fantastic. In the morning we met Hugo who was extremely helpful and charming, and there was an array of breakfast treats including croissants, pastries, breads, cereals, fresh melon and pineapple, coffee, juice and tea. It was raining and they offered us an umbrella so we could go out and stay dry.
I would highly recommend Casa do Bairro for it's warm, friendly service, cozy and clean atmosphere and you can't beat the location. 10 mins walk from Baixa-Chiado metro, around the corner from the famous 28 tram. There is a great wine bar up the street as well as restaurants, coffee shops and a miradour with a fantastic view of the river and the bridge. Seriously, if you are going to stay in Lisbon, stay here. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Arriving at night, weaving through dark lanes, we weren't sure what we had got ourselves into. Though Casa do Bairro turned out to be a real find. If you want something deep in the real Lisbon, with a lot of local feel, this is perfect. An old home restored and Newly curated with sympathetic style. there is a tram close by though most attractions are within an energetic walk.
Magda and her team were warmly and genuinely helpful and very welcoming.
Great continental breakfasts with scrambled eggs fr the non continental types. good sized rooms and vey quiet

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa do Bairro B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Bairro B&B

Address: Beco do Caldeira, no 1 | Cruzamento com Rua Fernandes Tomás, Santa Catarina, Lisbon 1200-084, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa do Bairro B&B 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning, wireless internet, Cable TV. Open-air patio and terrasse. 5 minutes from Chiado and Bairro Alto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Casa do Bairro B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Bairro b&b And Apartments Hotel Lisbon
Casa Do Bairro Bed And Breakfast And Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa do Bairro B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.